On the Horizon – the brides of high hill (Nghi Vo)

Ahoy there me mateys!  I received this fantasy eARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  So here be me honest musings . . . .

Title: the brides of high hill
Author: Nghi Vo
Publisher: tor.com
Publication Date: TOMORROW!!! (paperback / e-book)
ISBN: 978-1250851444
Source: NetGalley

Perhaps reading the synopsis would have helped but this book confused me quite a bit.  Cleric Chih was not acting like herself in this story.  I was also very much missing the neixin Almost Brilliant. The ending answered all my questions, however I was left mostly wanting more of the set-up for how this adventure really started.

That said, the setting of an impending wedding and the mystery of the mad son were very interesting.  I loved the rundown feel of the majority of the elaborate estate.  I liked how the soon-to-be bride and Chih interacted.  The tone of the story was creepy and unsettling.  I also appreciated the comfort and use of the teapot.

These stories are meant to be standalones but I wouldn’t recommend this one as a place to start.  There may be at least three more novellas coming out in this world.  I am still excited to read them.  Arrr!

Goodreads has this to say about the novella:

The Hugo Award-Winning Series returns with its newest standalone entry: a gothic mystery involving a crumbling estate, a mysterious bride, and an extremely murderous teapot.

The Cleric Chih accompanies a beautiful young bride to her wedding to an aging lord at a crumbling estate situated at the crossroads of dead empires. But they’re forgetting things they ought to remember, and the lord’s mad young son wanders the grounds at night like a hanged ghost.

To visit the author’s website go to:
Nghi Vo – Author

To buy the books go to:
The Singing Hills Cycle  – Books

To add to Goodreads go to:
Yer Ports for Plunder List

Previous Log Entries for this Author
the empress of salt and fortune – Book 1
when the tiger came down the mountain – Book 2
into the riverlands – Book 3
mammoths at the gates – Book 4

4 thoughts on “On the Horizon – the brides of high hill (Nghi Vo)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.