The Captain’s Log – compulsory (Martha Wells) – More MURDERBOT!! Aye, I be obsessed . . .

Ahoy there me mateys!  The title of this post is compulsory.  This is the name of the prequel Murderbot story.  Do any of ye cads know what compulsory means?  Well ye flea-bitten, drunken miscreants let me clarify: com·pul·so·ry /kəmˈpəlsərē/ adjective required by law or a rule; obligatory. This crew is derelict in duty!!  The last … Continue reading The Captain’s Log – compulsory (Martha Wells) – More MURDERBOT!! Aye, I be obsessed . . .

Advertisements

The Captain’s Log – the plotters (Un-su Kim) – Sad South Korean Assassin Troubles!

Ahoy there me mateys!  This tale be described by Goodreads as "a fantastical crime novel set in an alternate Seoul where assassination guilds compete for market dominance. Perfect for fans of Han Kang."  I love Han Kang.  I love assassins.  I love translated works.  I love the cover: I loved Fiction Fan's awesome review which … Continue reading The Captain’s Log – the plotters (Un-su Kim) – Sad South Korean Assassin Troubles!

The Captain’s Log – tomorrow and tomorrow (Thomas Sweterlitsch)

Ahoy there me mateys!  It be no secret that Sarah @ brainfluff likes to increase me ports for plunder list by exponentially high amounts.  And thank goodness because her awesome review led me to this amazing read.  She said: This is the overarching theme of this book – what happens to the griefstricken when they … Continue reading The Captain’s Log – tomorrow and tomorrow (Thomas Sweterlitsch)

The Captain’s Log – mika model (Paolo Bacigalupi)

Ahoy there me mateys!  Yesterday I reviewed a short story from Emily St. John Mandel commissioned by Future Tense Fiction.  Future Tense Fiction is "a series of short stories . . . about how technology and science will change our lives."  It was formed in a partnership by Slate, New America, and Arizona State University.  This story, … Continue reading The Captain’s Log – mika model (Paolo Bacigalupi)

The Captain’s Log – mr. thursday (Emily St. John Mandel)

Ahoy there me mateys!  I adored station eleven and the singer's gun so when I saw there was a short story available from the author, I knew I had to read it.  This story was the second one commissioned by Future Tense.  I had never heard of them but apparently Future Tense is: "A partnership … Continue reading The Captain’s Log – mr. thursday (Emily St. John Mandel)