Shiver me Timbers! The 2021 Hugo Finalists – Part Three – Novellas

Ahoy there me mateys!  A long while back, I wrote a post discussing me initial thoughts on the 2021 Hugo awards.  At that time, I had read four of the six novellas.  I have since finished them all.  So here be me thoughts about the novellas and me pick for the 2021 winner.

The novellas are from the list as published on Tor.com.  Click on the story title to read me prior full reviews of the novellas.

Best Novella

“Weapons, at least, were predictable; weapons made sense. A sword was just a knife with delusions of grandeur. A trident was a really big fork…”

Thoughts: While this was not me favorite of the Wayward Child series, I did enjoy this one.  Other readers may get something else out of the book but for me, this book was a glimpse into that nebulous transition between child and adult.  I feel that this novella has to be compared to the others in the series to be understood properly.  Not a contender for best novella.

  • The Empress of Salt and Fortune, Nghi Vo (Tordotcom)

She disappeared like Kazu did, like any number of women did over the years, unremarked, and their demise as unremarkable as surely they were not.

Thoughts:  This is a story about an Empress as told by a servant named Rabbit to a traveling cleric.  This story was evocative and beautifully written.  I read this novella last but it was a favorite.  I loved the way this unfolded and it had such beautiful imagery.  The words vividly drew the world and the characters.  The story felt simplistic at times and yet had such layers.  I can’t do it justice.  I am glad this is the first in a series.

  • Finna, Nino Cipri (Tordotcom)

Of course Jules was alive, they had never faced a challenge whose ass they couldn’t kick, and they had the stores of righteous rage that all retail employees collected.

Thoughts: This novella answers the question about what would happen if a wormhole opened up in Ikea, I mean, LitenVärld (copyright issues!).  I enjoyed this story but it was a bit hard to get into and too short.  Glad I read it but not a contender for best novella.  It has some super funny quotes though.

They say God is good all the time. Seem he also likes irony.

Thoughts:  I thought this novella was fantastic.  I also loved that it sent me on a journey of research to better understand the historical elements mentioned in the book.  I learned so much from reading this and it packed an emotional punch.  This was originally the pick for winner.

  • Riot Baby, Tochi Onyebuchi (Tordotcom)

When you have a purpose that doesn’t involve hurting someone else, it changes the way you walk.

Thoughts: I always seem to like this author’s ideas and not his writing style.  I tried to listen to this one on audiobook and only made it halfway.  The story was evocative and the pain, anger, and racism was palpable.  The mix of fantasy and sci-fi and the time jumps in the story lessened the appeal for me.  Though really this book is not written for me as the intended audience.

Just because he needed killing doesn’t mean I can sleep easy.

Thoughts:  This takes place in an alternate American West and has queer librarian spies.  It was a fun novella that I really enjoyed with some excellent characters.  The main problem with this one was that the novella format didn’t seem like the right choice.  I think this one would have been better expanded into a novel as there were just too many elements that were not explored or explained enough.

Now listen up me hearties, the decision has been made:

Hoped for Winner:  Ring Shout, P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom) because of the rabbit hole and how much I learned.  I do think the The Empress of Salt and Fortune, Nghi Vo (Tordotcom) was written more tightly and had beautiful writing so if that one won it wouldn’t make me too sad.

So there ye have it.  Me Hugo thoughts and wishes for novellas.  I will keep y’all posted as I continue readin’ through the nominees before the winners be  revealed.  In the meantime:

Always remember:

Q: Where do pirates put their weapons?

A: In their enemies!  Arrrr!

Hardy har har!

x The Captain

4 thoughts on “Shiver me Timbers! The 2021 Hugo Finalists – Part Three – Novellas

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.