Off the Charts – the maid (Nita Prose) & the heiress (Rachel Hawkins) & murder road (Simone St. James) & the woman in cabin 10 (Ruth Ware) – A Muster of Thrillers

Ahoy there me mateys!  Today I bring ye a muster of mini-reviews.  What be a muster?

Well the Oxford English Dictionary defines it as:

  1. assemble (troops) especially for inspection or for battle;
  2. collect or assemble (a number or amount); or
  3. a group of peacocks.

Though this log’s focus is on sci-fi and fantasy, this Captain does have broader reading tastes. So occasionally I will share some novels that I enjoyed that are off the charts (a non sci-fi or fantasy) . . . .

These are mysteries and thrillers that were recommended by various crew members.  I gave them a shot.

Side note: Click on the book titles to add the books to yer Goodreads’ Ports for Plunder List.  

the maid (Nita Prose)

This was a Goodreads Choice Award winner in 2022.  Matey Martie & Matey Mogsy & Matey Lynn wrote great reviews of this.  I took a shot readin’ this cozy mystery.  I found this to be a pleasant read but not enough to read the sequel.  Molly is neurodivergent and too trusting and old-fashioned..  While her trust made me wince sometimes, I did root for her.  She just wants to do a good job and have folks like her.  One of parts I found funniest was how Molly loves the mandatory company trainings and takes the slogans and lessons to heart.  The mystery itself was just okay but it was interesting to see the details from Molly’s viewpoint.  I won’t get into more details here at the crew’s reviews do it better.  A nice book but also not one I will read again.

“We’re all entitled to a bad day now and again, I heard Gran say in my head. But when they are all bad days, with no pleasant ones, then it’s time to reconsider things.”
― Nita Prose, The Maid

the heiress (Rachel Hawkins)

This be set mostly in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina and had good reviews from Matey Tammy, Matey Lynn, and Matey Martie. This book follows an insanely dysfunctional family and has gothic undertones. Ruby McTavish Callahan was the best character in the book even though she was dead.  We learn about her through flashbacks and letters.  I loved learning about her ex-husbands.  The other two living main characters, Jules and Camden, are a married couple that keep secrets from each other.  Jules is something else.  The history and relationships of the characters kept me reading.  I didn’t care much for the larger mystery of the missing child and the identity of the letter writer.  That said, this was highly enjoyable and I am glad I read it.

“A haunted house where the ghosts hadn’t had the courtesy to die yet.”
― Rachel Hawkins, The Heiress

murder road (Simone St. James)

This read was just okay.  I did not enjoy it as much as Matey Mogsy or Matey Tammy.  To be fair, I loved the set-up and how the main characters, April and Eddie, end up as murder suspects in Coldlake Falls instead of on their honeymoon.  I loved (to hate) the small town cops and loved Rose, the bed-and-breakfast owner with the obsession of Princess Diana.  I enjoyed the backstory that we eventually get for April.  I did not like Eddie’s backstory or the coincidences with the supernatural.  In fact the supernatural element and how it all tied together was the weak point for me.  Once I knew where that plotline was headed, the enjoyment of the novel went down substantially.  Basically I got a tiny bit bored.  It was a quick read though so no regrets,

“The thought bubbled through my mind, unbidden: I don’t want to do this anymore. I want more. Surviving to tomorrow wasn’t good enough. Not anymore.”
― Simone St. James, Murder Road

the woman in cabin 10 (Ruth Ware)

I never read girl on a train which this is compared to (a lot).  I cannot remember the specific crew member that talked about this.  I picked this one up because of the locked room cruise ship mystery part.  As ye know, I be a sucker for sea yarns.  I needed an audiobook and this was one of the “available now” ones from the library.  This book walked the plank for so many reasons.  I kinda hated the self-destructive behavior of the main character, Lo.  I hated her inability to not drink even though she shouldn’t.  I hated that one of the plot points of her being unreliable is because she took anti-depressants.  I hated how those pills were the only method for Lo to deal with her depression (i.e. anti-therapy message).  I hated how she dealt with men in general and how she trusted all the bad ones on board specifically.  I hated that it never really felt like she was actually at sea.  I HATED the big plot twist.  I hated how when Lo is on the run she has suddenly developed superpowers to run all over Norway.  I did like the use of pieces of news, letters, and emails from the future to add confusion and suspense.  Overall bad book.  If I wasn’t listening to the audiobook I likely would not have finished.  Overboard this goes to degrade in the watery depths.  Just like Lo should have.  Arrr!

“There was a little spritz of sequined leaves across the right shoulder because you didn’t seem to be able to get away with none. Apparently the majority of ball gowns were designed by five-year-old girls armed with glitter guns, but at least this one didn’t look entirely like an explosion in a Barbie factory.”
― Ruth Ware, The Woman in Cabin 10

Thanks for readin’.  Happy Sailing!

x The Captain

3 thoughts on “Off the Charts – the maid (Nita Prose) & the heiress (Rachel Hawkins) & murder road (Simone St. James) & the woman in cabin 10 (Ruth Ware) – A Muster of Thrillers

  1. I agree, The Woman in Cabin Ten was not the great book a lot of people seem to think it is. I finished it because my grandmother had recommended it and I wanted to discuss it with her, but then when I was done reading it I didn’t have enough good stuff to say to do much more then tell her “I read it; it was fun.” (But you’re right. It did NOT feel like Lo was at sea, especially on a supposedly small ship.)

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.