Shiver me Timbers! The 2021 Hugo Finalists – Part Four – Best Short Story

Ahoy there me mateys!  A while back, I wrote a post discussing me initial thoughts on the 2021 Hugo award nominees.  At that time, I had read half of the works in the best short story category.  I have since remedied the situation and so here be mini-reviews of the short stories and me pick for the 2021 winner.

The short stories are from the list as published on Tor.com.  Click on the story title to read the short stories themselves.  Stories marked with a “*” were previously reviewed as part of the 2020 Nebula nominees.

Best Short Story

Thoughts: This was the story of a couple giving birth after the zombie apocalypse.  I don’t tend to like babies or birth stories but this won me over in the end.  Though, I still never want babies.

Thoughts: This combines dogs and robots.  It was cute but didn’t knock my socks off.

Thoughts:  I love Little Free Libraries and have even gone on an adventure or two involving them.  This story was super cute and certainly showcased the love of reading.  I really enjoyed it but enough to win the Hugo?

Thoughts:  This was a fantastic little mermaid retelling about a mer who wants to visit space and the power of love both familial and found.  Short but evocative.  I loved it.

Thoughts: I love this author’s work and this story was no different.  A human makes two machines, Brother and Sister.  When Father leaves them, the two have to survive.  Sister learns some hard truths and makes some hard decisions.

Thoughts:  I loved this one.  This is a non-typical haunted house story that has the perfect ending.  It is short so I won’t spoil it.

Now listen up me hearties, the decision has been made:

Hoped for Winner:  It has changed now that I have read them all.  I want the T. Kingfisher story to win for sure.

So there ye have it.  Me Hugo thoughts and wishes for short stories.  I think this collection overall was well written and I am glad to have read them all.  I will keep y’all posted as I continue readin’ through the Hugo nominees before the winners be revealed on 12/18/2021.  In the meantime:

Always remember:

Q: How does a pirate get to the top of the building?

A: By evevatarrrrr!

Hardy har har!

x The Captain

12 thoughts on “Shiver me Timbers! The 2021 Hugo Finalists – Part Four – Best Short Story

  1. I hope that either the Kingfisher or Wiswell story wins, though honestly I would be happy with most of them. My least favorite—more specifically the only one I didn’t like—was the Carson story about giving birth in the zombie apocalypse. I found it icky, which is no surprise since zombie stories are NOT my thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I keep forgetting that ye don’t like zombies. This kid I know is reading a middle grade book that has lots of monsters and scary things. The last chapter deals with zombies and he said she couldn’t read it before bed anymore because then he couldn’t sleep. The zombies were too much and sent him over the edge. I thought that was weird but cute. He is 11.
      x The Captain

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.