Second Reflections – a Muster of Mini-Reviews dealing with a classic, a thief, a sentient rock, glamour, and several comfort reads!

Ahoy there me mateys!  Today I bring ye a muster of mini-reviews.  What be a muster?

Well the Oxford English Dictionary defines it as:

  1. assemble (troops) especially for inspection or for battle;
  2. collect or assemble (a number or amount); or
  3. a group of peacocks.

Here I take a second look at previously enjoyed novels from me younger days and give me crew me second reflections, as it were, upon visitin’ them again.  They don’t get full reviews because I don’t necessarily have a lot new to say but me rule is that I have to review every book I read.  Arrrr!

Side note: Click on the book titles to add the books to yer Goodreads’ Ports for Plunder List.  

to kill a mockingbird (Harper Lee)

Me and a best matey went to see the newest adaptation (U.S. National Tour version) of the play by Aaron Sorkin.  It was a horrible script and made me angry even though the rest of the production values were fine.  After discussing the flaws of this play in detail, it made us want to re-watch the 1962 film version.  The grainy but wonderful VHS tape viewing made me want to see how clearly both versions held up when comparing it to the original.  I listened to this via audiobook and was struck all over again by how much I love this book.  I usually relate to Scout the most but this read was a lot more analytical in many ways given seeing the two adaptations and my recent work in law.  The narrator was but I did not know that until after I finished.  She did an excellent job. I think this is one of the most important books I have ever read and it continues to resonate.  Arrr!

“The one thing that doesn’t abide by majority rule is a person’s conscience.”
― Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

the blacktongue thief (Christopher Buehlman)

This is the first book in the Blacktongue series.  I read this in e-book form but this time around I listened to the audiobook version.  I wanted a refresher before I read the prequel that is due out on June 25th of this year.  I loved this!  The author narrates and is excellent.  Songs in novels don’t usually do it for me but I loved hearing them in this (though I think the author was not the singer).  I actually think this is one of those audiobooks that makes the book even better.  I had a problem with the pacing and the history lessons when I first read it. Not this time.  I love Kinch Na Shannack and cannot wait to get more of his story.  Arrrr!

“I won’t be your dog, but if you’re half the wolf I think you are, you’ve found a fox to run with.”
― Christopher Buehlman, The Blacktongue Thief

the raven tower (Ann Leckie)

I felt a hankering to revisit this novel given how much the First Mate loved this audiobook.  Me review of the e-book still sums up how I feel about the novel.  However, Adjoa Andoh’s narration is so good that when I read this again (definitely) I will listen to the audiobook.  Arrr!

“And humans, who by my reasoning had less ground than I to think anything they did might matter in any real way, did far more. They traveled. They changed the landscape in large and small ways. They put plans in motion that they knew they would not see completed – plans that would benefit not them but their children and their grandchildren. When I – I had kept myself clear of dirt and leaves and snow.

Perhaps the length of one’s life was not important – except in the way it is to so many living beings, desperate to avoid death. Perhaps, long or short, it mattered how one spent that time.”
― Ann Leckie, The Raven Tower

shades of milk and honey (Mary Robinette Kowal)

This is the first book of the Glamourist Histories.  This was described to me as Pride and Prejudice with magic.  When I reread, I usually savor the smallest details being refreshed.  However, I did not realize I had already read this book until around the 25% mark.  It was an odd read because many sections I remembered everything about and then others were a complete blank.  I think I removed the sections I did not like from me noggin.  This was an okay read but I honestly did not love it.  I found the character of Melody to be extremely bratty and unlikeable and actually kinda evil.  Jane was annoying because her self-esteem was so very low and she played the martyr a LOT.  The sisterly relationship was horrible and sad.  And they were both “in love” with the same man.  Boo.  I wanted all of the characters to have more depth.  I also wanted the magic to be more interesting then just making illusions.  It didn’t really do anything of practical nature.  For example, there is a girl who uses magic to make her face look better but EVERYONE knows that she does it so really what is the point?  Also Jane acts so modern at times that it threw me a bit.  Example- the entire climax to ending.  I am really not sure if I should try to buy the next book since the libraries do not have electronic copies.  Any thoughts from the crew?

“Nothing today had done her any real harm, yet she felt as though her nerves had been flayed and left out for the tanner.”
― Mary Robinette Kowal, Shades of Milk and Honey

the first two books of the World of Five Gods trilogy (Lois McMaster Bujold)

This series is another comfort read for me.  I talk about the first book a lot because it is one of me favorite fantasies ever.  Finishing the Penric and Desdemona novellas made me have a hankering to reread these again.  So I did.  I love them.  Arrrrr!

“And the Bastard grant us… in our direst need, the smallest gifts: the nail of the horseshoe, the pin of the axle, the feather at the pivot point, the pebble at the mountain’s peak, the kiss in despair, the one right word.”
― Lois McMaster Bujold, Paladin of Souls

the long way to a small, angry planet (Becky Chambers)

I love Becky Chambers works but had not reread this book since I first reviewed it in 2016.  I had a hankering to revisit it via audiobook.  I loved it all over again.  Listening to it after rereading the whole series made the connections between all of the books that much clearer.  It also made me want to listen to the rest of the series.  I have placed those audiobooks on hold at the library.  Arrrr!

“Ninety percent of all problems are caused by people being assholes.”
“What causes the other ten percent?” asked Kizzy.
“Natural disasters,” said Nib.”
― Becky Chambers, The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet

So there ye have it.  Me second reflections on some of me favorites from me past.  Arrrr!!

9 thoughts on “Second Reflections – a Muster of Mini-Reviews dealing with a classic, a thief, a sentient rock, glamour, and several comfort reads!

  1. My immediate thought after reading the review of To Kill a Mockingbird was to wonder if my parents’ VCR still works. It’s been such a long time since we used it.

    I’m slowly making my way to those Penric and Desdemona books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Funny about yer parents VCR. Given how bad the VHS looked on the tv, I don’t think the physical tape is going to last much longer.

      I know ye be a bid fan of Chalion so I hope ye love all the Penric novellas as much as I do.
      x The Captain

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved the Becky CHambers books, and definitely plan to reread them all at some point! Regarding the Glamourist Histories, I highly recommend continuing the series! The characters (and the magic itself) develop in such interesting ways, and the world of the series becomes more complex. The books are great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahoy there matey Lisa! Another crew member also said I should continue and for many of the same reasons as ye did. So I shall continue those Histories. Thank ye kindly for your input. Arrr!
      x The Captain

      Like

  3. Thanks for the reviews, however mini! Interestingly, I mostly agree with your assessments of the works I have read. I love everything Bujold and Chambers have written; the Leckie I respect but was somewhat too gloomy for my taste (but a sentient rock as narrator and the language related magic was fascinating); and Kowal doesn’t quite land for me, though I’m happy that others enjoy her as much as they do. You may tempt me into trying The Blacktongue Thief as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank ye for the lovely comment matey! It is interesting that we seem to have similar tastes. With that said, I hope ye do give The Blacktongue Thief a whirl. I tried to find yer blog, but it did not seem to work. Would you send me a link?
      x The Captain

      Like

      1. Alas, I have no blog or other website. Commenting on others’ sites is how I participate in Wyrd and Wonder.

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.