Shiver me Timbers! The 2024 Nebula Finalists – Part Four – Final Predictions

Ahoy there me mateys!  The Nebula Award winners are being announced tomorrow, Saturday, June 8, 2024.  I made an effort to read most of the works in the categories of specific interest to me.  I may not have gotten to them all but I certainly have opinions on those I read.

I am using the list as published on the SWFA website with links to me reviews (click the titles) where applicable.

Best Novel

  • The Saint of Bright Doors, Vajra Chandrasekera (Tordotcom) – This book was very interesting but overall a failure for me.  The writing is dense, fascinating in parts, and extremely frustrating in others. The caste system and world building were very nonsensical (which likely is the point). but I wanted answers and some explanation.  The main character has no real agency and that grew tiresome.  The Doors were a letdown because they didn’t seem to have a real point in the plot.  I did not like the abrupt plot twist ending.  I finished the book thinking “what was the point of Fetter’s journey?”  It didn’t quite walk the plank but I thought about it.  I received a copy of this from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
  • The Water Outlaws, S.L. Huang (Tordotcom; Solaris UK) – I tried to read this three times now but haven’t gotten very far on each attempt.  I think I am just not in the mood for it and not that it is a reflection on the writing.  It certainly is popular, has good reviews from the crew, and had a long library wait list after the last attempt I made.  I am not sure if I will try again.
  • Translation StateAnn Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • The Terraformers, Annalee Newitz (Tor; Orbit UK) – I didn’t really get into this book until about the 20% mark and almost abandoned it.  I continued reading due to the world building and several of the characters.  The planet is being terraformed by persons that are genetically modified.  This includes animals and an intelligence-based caste system.  Corporate greed runs the show.  There are time jumps.  One section had a bit too much sexual description for personal taste.  This was fascinating in ideas but I don’t think I really enjoyed it.
  • Shigidi and the Brass Head of Obalufon, Wole Talabi (DAW, Gollancz)
  • Witch KingMartha Wells (Tordotcom)

Thoughts:  Since me first post about this year’s Nebulas, I managed to finish two of the three remaining novels that I could get from the local library.  The Newitz book was certainly the most interesting of the list.  Overall, this year’s list did not float me boat.  I did change me mind about the Talabi novel being of interest to me based off his novelette that is nominated this year.  I may read it if it wins and if the library gets a copy.

Hoped for WinnerThe Terraformers, Annalee Newitz (Tor; Orbit UK)

Best Novella

  • The Crane Husband,  Kelly Barnhill (Tordotcom) – This was so beautifully written and unsettling and is based off of the fairytale “The Crane Wife.”  It deals with domestic violence, childhood neglect, and poverty.  The story is told by an unnamed 15 year old.  There is magic in this book but the world is not magical at all.  How this story is told packs such an emotional punch to the heart.  There is beauty in the story but it is juxtaposed with such cruelty.  This is one of the best Barnhill books I have read.
  • “Linghun“,  Ai Jiang (Dark Matter Ink) –  This deals with overwhelming grief.  The world building is the highlight of this book.  There is a town where the dead do return as ghosts and people fight to obtain homes there.  This is an unusual, unique book.  I didn’t love the ending but it was definitely worth reading.  I truly fascinating look at grief and loss.
  • Thornhedge, T. Kingfisher (Tor; Titan UK)
  • Untethered Sky, Fonda Lee (Tordotcom)
  • The Mimicking of Known Successes,  Malka Older (Tordotcom)
  • Mammoths at the Gates,  Nghi Vo (Tordotcom)

Thoughts: I managed to read 5 of the 6.  The Older is not available at the library in e-book form and I tend to not buy books unless I know I will reread them.  This was an excellent list of nominees as I very much enjoyed the ones I read.  I have three that I have trouble choosing from.

Hoped for Winner: Mammoths at the Gates,  Nghi Vo (Tordotcom) for emotional impact, then the Kingfisher, then Barnhill.

Best Novelette (click for all reviews)

Thoughts: I have linked to the stories online where available.  Just click on the story titles..  I read 5 of the 6.  The only one I really didn’t like was the Triantafyllou though it was well written.  I think this was a strong category overall but two stories rose to the top.

Hoped for Winner:  “The Year Without Sunshine“, Naomi Kritzer (Uncanny 11-12/23) followed by “Saturday’s Song“, Wole Talabi (Lightspeed 5/23)

Best Short Story (click for all reviews)

Thoughts: I have linked to the stories online where available.  Just click on the story titles.  I really enjoyed 3 of the 6 but there was one that I loved immensely and there was no question for this category.

Hoped for Winner: – “Tantie Merle and the Farmhand 4200“, R.S.A Garcia (Uncanny 7-8/23)

The Andre Norton Nebula Award for Middle Grade and Young Adult Fiction

  • To Shape a Dragon’s Breath, Moniquill Blackgoose (Del Rey)
  • The Inn at the Amethyst Lantern, J. Dianne Dotson (Android)
  • Liberty’s Daughter, Naomi Kritzer (Fairwood)
  • The Ghost Job, Greg Van Eeckhout (Harper) – I didn’t like this book from the beginning but read until the 64% mark before giving up.  The major problem for me is that the world building just did not make sense in terms of how the ghosts worked.  The 4 main characters needed more character development and the plot was weak.  Also it is a bit dark given that the characters are dead 7th graders and that the book deals with necromancy.  I do think it could work for middle school readers but it did not for me.

Thoughts:  I was not enamored with the Blackgoose book which made dragons rather boring.  The Van Eeckhout book didn’t work for me.  I still want to read the other two (which sound so fun) but the library does not have them.  I may buy both at some point.  Especially if either of them win.

Hoped for WinnerThe Inn at the Amethyst Lantern, J. Dianne Dotson (Android) or Liberty’s Daughter, Naomi Kritzer (Fairwood)

So there ye have it.  Me Nebula wishes.  Looking forward to seeing who wins. In the meantime

Always remember:

Q:  How do pirates prefer to communicate?

A:  Aye to Aye!

Hardy har har!

x The Captain

2 thoughts on “Shiver me Timbers! The 2024 Nebula Finalists – Part Four – Final Predictions

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.