The Captain’s Log – The Singing Hills Cycle Books 2 – 4 (Nghi Vo)

Ahoy there me mateys!  The first book in this series won the Hugo Award for Best Novella in 2021.  I loved it and as book 4, mammoths at the gates, came out earlier this month, I thought I would share me thoughts about books 2 – 4.  They can all be read as standalones but I am glad I read them in order.

when the tiger came down the mountain – book 2

The cleric Chih is traveling with a mammoth-riding scout and they get caught at a way-station by some tigers.  Chih is tasked with telling these tigers the popular known tale of fierce tiger Ho Thi Thao and the human scholar Dieu as a distraction so they don’t get eaten.  Only the tigers know a different version!  I loved how the story differs by storyteller and intended audience.  I loved the insight into the mammoth riders culture.  I adore Chih and their overall mission.  The love story between the tiger and scholar was lovely too.

“Oh!” Sinh Cam exclaimed, sitting up in surprise. “That’s right! A bundle of bones tied up with their own guts, that’s what we say.” “It’s a tiger’s term?” Chih asked. “I thought it was just what the ghosts of the examination hall did to those scholars who who didn’t follow the proper sacrifices . . .” “No, it’s ours,” said Sinh Loan pleasantly. “It’s what we call someone who is a disappointment. Because that’s what we turn them into. Please continue.”
― Nghi Vo, When the Tiger Came Down the Mountain

into the riverlands – book 3

Chih is traveling in the riverlands to record stories for the monastery with Almost Brilliant, her companion neixin bird spirit with a perfect memory.  After an awesome fight at an inn, the duo joins a group of travelers who discuss a local folk hero as they journey.  This novella explores how truth becomes historical lore.  I love the relationship between Chih and Almost Brilliant.  I also really enjoyed the young women Wei Jintai and Mac Sang and the middle-aged couple Lao Bingyi and her husband Khanh.  I really enjoyed how the tale of the Bandit was interspersed throughout the descriptions of the riverlands and what the group was experiencing.

“Ugly women, beautiful women, what foolishness. Most of us are lucky if we’re born with a measure of common sense in our heads.”
― Nghi Vo, Into the Riverlands

mammoths at the gates – book 4

This book was a gem and may be the best of the series.  Chih the cleric gets to go back to the Abbey after four years on the road.  They are excited to be home.  Upon arriving, Chih finds chaos and sorrow.  Their mentor, Thien, has passed away.  Thien’s family is at the gates with mammoths threatening battle if Thien’s body is not given up.  The majority of the clerics are not home but on an archeological dig.  The neixin are bitter and politicking.  And Chih finds other unexpected changes.  This was a beautiful book about the past, grief, changing friendship, memory, love, stories, and reevaluating purpose.  It felt bittersweet but certainly ended with hope.  I read late into the night in one reading and was captivated.  I cannot wait for book 5 (and hopefully more).  Arrrr!

Side note: I received book four from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

“sometimes, you cannot survive and still be who you were.”
― Nghi Vo, Mammoths at the Gates

To visit the author’s website go to:
Nghi Vo – Author

To buy the books go to:
The Singing Hills Cycle  – Books

To add to Goodreads go to:
Yer Ports for Plunder List

11 thoughts on “The Captain’s Log – The Singing Hills Cycle Books 2 – 4 (Nghi Vo)

  1. Thank you for your wide-ranging review across the series, Cap. It’s very useful to get an overview of all four books at once, because as we all know – books across series can vary. It’s heartening to know that book 4 not only maintains that quality, but exceeds it:).

    Like

  2. I’ve loved books 1-3 of this series, and I’m really looking forward to reading #4. My copy is sitting on my bookshelf, waiting for when I have an afternoon to devote to reading. I think this is one I’ll want to read in one go.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.