The Captain’s Log – a dead djinn in cairo (P. Djèlí Clark)

Ahoy there me mateys!  This is me third work by the author but not me last.  I have loved every one.  The first story was the black god's drums which takes place in an alternate steampunk 1884 New Orleans where slavery in the South is not illegal.  Then I read “The Secret Lives of the … Continue reading The Captain’s Log – a dead djinn in cairo (P. Djèlí Clark)

Abandoned Ship! – the quick (Lauren Owen) – a 20 in 2020 book!

Ahoy there me mateys!  This year be crazy so this is only book three in me Ports for Plunder - 20 Books in 2020 list.  Lots of reviews talk about The Twist.  I was spoiled by other Goodreads reviews back when I put together the 20 in 2020 list.  I decided to read it anyway … Continue reading Abandoned Ship! – the quick (Lauren Owen) – a 20 in 2020 book!

The Captain’s Log – upright women wanted (Sarah Gailey)

Ahoy there me mateys!  I loved the author's books about hippo cowboys even though I didn't enjoy their fantasy novel.  So I was excited that their newest novella was once again set in the American West and deals with queer librarian spies on horseback.  I mean how can ye not get excited about that?  I … Continue reading The Captain’s Log – upright women wanted (Sarah Gailey)

The Captain’s Log – the plotters (Un-su Kim) – Sad South Korean Assassin Troubles!

Ahoy there me mateys!  This tale be described by Goodreads as "a fantastical crime novel set in an alternate Seoul where assassination guilds compete for market dominance. Perfect for fans of Han Kang."  I love Han Kang.  I love assassins.  I love translated works.  I love the cover: I loved Fiction Fan's awesome review which … Continue reading The Captain’s Log – the plotters (Un-su Kim) – Sad South Korean Assassin Troubles!

The Captain’s Log – summerland (Hannu Rajaniemi)

Ahoy there me mateys!  This be the third book in me Ports for Plunder - 19 Books in 2019 list.  I knew I wanted to read this alternative history sci-fi novel after reading about it in matey Lashaan @ bookidote's awesome review.  As he nicely puts it, "It might not be the most accessible story that … Continue reading The Captain’s Log – summerland (Hannu Rajaniemi)

Sailing to the Stars – the lady astronaut series (Mary Robinette Kowal)

Ahoy there me mateys!  Me first read of 2018 was a novelette called the lady astronaut of mars.  I had gotten it from the library only to be surprised that it was only 19 pages!  I expected it to be a full length novel.  But the story was absolutely wonderful and so this year I … Continue reading Sailing to the Stars – the lady astronaut series (Mary Robinette Kowal)

On the Horizon – the black god’s drums (P. Djèlí Clark)

Ahoy there me mateys! I received this fantasy eARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  So here be me honest musings . . . the black god's drums (P. Djèlí Clark) Title: the black god's drums Author: P. Djèlí Clark Publisher: Tor.com Publication Date: Tomorrow!! (paperback/ebook) ISBN: 978-1250294715 Source: NetGalley I absolutely loved this novella.  … Continue reading On the Horizon – the black god’s drums (P. Djèlí Clark)

The Captain’s Log – river of teeth & taste of marrow (Sarah Gailey)

Ahoy there me mateys!  So apparently there was a meat shortage in the United States in 1910, so this dude Robert F. Broussard introduced what was known as the "Hippo Bill" or H.R. 23261 to Congress.  In it, he proposed to import hippos from Africa and let them loose in Louisiana!  These hippos would eat … Continue reading The Captain’s Log – river of teeth & taste of marrow (Sarah Gailey)