The Captain’s Log – shards of honor, falling free, and the warrior’s apprentice (Lois McMaster Bujold) – The Vorkosigan Saga Year Has Begun!

Ahoy there me mateys!  In 2021 the First Mate gave me a treasure trove of the entire Vorkosigan Saga.  I have finally begun exploring this world.  After much internal debate, I decided to read the series in publishing order . . . well mostly.  Here be the first three books I tackled . . .

shards of honor

I have always been told that the series was about Miles though I don’t know much beyond that.  Well there was no Miles in this.  Apparently this be the story of how his parents meet.  Cordelia Naismith is leading a research team on an unexplored planet.  Turns out Aral Vorkosigan and his team are already there.  She is taken hostage by Aral.  They have to work together on the hostile planet.  Love ensues.  As does politics because the two are on opposite sides of the struggle.  I loved the first part of the book.  The later half not so much.  It seemed very fragmented and there is lots of torture and rape and it was gross. Bathari made me ill as did the ending.  I was so turned off by these elements that I wasn’t sure I wanted to continue.  I was expecting better from the author who wrote the curse of chalion which is one of me favourite books ever.  I wish I did not start with this.

“They stared at her curiously, and she caught snatches of conversation in two or three languages. It wasn’t hard to guess their content, and she smiled a bit primly. Youth, it appeared, was full of illusions as to how much sexual energy two people might have to spare while hiking forty or so kilometers a day, concussed, stunned, diseased, on poor food and little sleep, alternating caring for a wounded man with avoiding becoming dinner for every carnivore within range – and with a coup to plan for the end.”
― Lois McMaster Bujold, Shards of Honour

falling free

No Miles in this one either.  I found out this takes place 200 years before the Cordelia story and does not share settings or characters with the rest of the series.  It did win the Nebula award for best novel in 1988.  This follows engineer Leo Graf who works for a corporation and is sent on an assignment.  Turns out his students are genetically engineered humans with two sets of arms and no legs i.e. quaddies.  Parts of the story were really fun and I did enjoy Leo as a character.  The major problem was that quaddies were bred to be naïve and let humans dictate everything for them.  This made me uncomfortable.  And also how the females were abused sexually also made me uncomfortable.  The bad guy was a ridiculous super villain.  The feats of engineering needed to survive were over the top.  But I did enjoy this much better than the previous book.

“Were you BORN inhuman or did you grow so by degrees?! MS, MD, PHD?”
― Lois McMaster Bujold, Falling Free

the warrior’s apprentice

Miles.  Finally.  I am in love.  Now this is more in line with what I wanted from the beginning.  Future readers, start here.  We meet Miles at the academy where joining the military is his dream despite his physical limitations.  Of course nothing goes as wished and Miles ends up traveling to his mother’s homeworld to have a change in scene.  He takes a gamble and ends up in over his head.  And what ensues was not expected at all and wonderful.  Miles is somewhat egotistical, certainly brooding, a bit naïve, intelligent, and often whiny.  The story is over the top but was fun all the same.  I am also glad that Bathari is done, Elena might be happy, and Ivan does some good.  I do want to see what Miles gets into next.  Arrr!

“When the time comes to leap in faith whether you have your eyes open or closed or scream all the way down or not makes no practical difference.”
― Lois McMaster Bujold, The Warrior’s Apprentice

To visit the author’s website go to:
Lois McMaster Bujold – Author

To add to Goodreads go to:
Yer Ports for Plunder List

Previous Log Entries for this Author

The World of the Five Gods series – Fantasy
the curse of the chalion – book 1
paladin of souls – book 2
the hallowed hunt – book 3
penric’s progress – omnibus 1 (eArc)
penric’s travels – omnibus 2
the orphans of raspay – book 7
the physicians of vilnoc – book 8

The Sharing Knife series – Fantasy
knife children – book 5 (eArc)

5 thoughts on “The Captain’s Log – shards of honor, falling free, and the warrior’s apprentice (Lois McMaster Bujold) – The Vorkosigan Saga Year Has Begun!

  1. Before Warrior’s Apprentice there is Barrayar, which shows how Miles came to be, and what events literally *shaped* him. It was my first Vorkosigan book, and that helped me better understand the events in Shards of Honor. I hope that your journey through this series (one of my favorites, indeed) proceeds much better than this somewhat… shaky start! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the comment. I think that it is fascinating to see where other crew started their Vorkosigan journey and the various opinions about where they feel readers should start. I am certainly looking forward to more Miles. I will get to Barrayar as #7. Arrr!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.