On the Horizon – artemis (Andy Weir)

Ahoy there me mateys!  I received this sci-fi eARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  So here be me honest musings . . .

artemis (Andy Weir)

Title: artemis

Author: Andy Weir

Publisher: Crown Publishing

Publication Date: TODAY!!! (hardback/e-book)

ISBN: 978-0553448122

Source: NetGalley

Andy Weir’s newest book was a super fun read.  He is a versatile writer in that overall this book has a completely different feel than the martian.  And that’s a good thing.  But the areas that made the martian a success are present here.  Snarky intelligent character.  Check.  Science and physics facts that are accessible for physics hating people.  Check.  World building so good that ye feel ye could step off the spaceship onto the planet, or in this case moon.  Check.

This book was a fast-paced adventure heist that kept me rapidly turning pages until the end.  The main character, Jazz, is super intelligent but lacks common sense.  She continues to make one bad decision after the other.  At 26 she seems destined to be stuck in a low-level job on the margins.  Then an enticing offer comes along that could give her a lot of money and move her into a lifestyle of comfort.  Of course it’s another bad choice and the consequences impact more than just her.  Can she fix it or will the moon as she knows it change for good?

Jazz as a character was the weak point of the book for me in that she is just such a mess.  She does read younger than 26 at times and is so annoying at others.  But she slowly won me over by the end.  I loved that her father is present and a good parent.  Her family is diverse.  She is a Muslim of Saudi Arabian descent.  Actually, the moon is full of people of different backgrounds.  I also loved how the moon is portrayed as dangerous and how the citizens police themselves.  It was both funny and made logical sense.

Overall I thought this was a great book by Mr. Weir and I will certainly be reading whatever he writes next.  If ye have a hankerin’ to visit the moon then I suggest ye pick this one up.  Just be prepared that it’s a crazy time to visit.

So lastly . . .

Thank you Crown Publishing!

The reviews of this one vary widely so check out the thoughts of me crew:

Lynn @ lynn’sbookblog

Ali @ iwuvbooks

Annie @ themisstery – a take on a book outside her comfort zone!

Mogsy @thebibliosanctum

Goodreads’ website has this to say about the novel:

To visit the author’s website go to:

Andy Weir – Author

To buy the novel go to:

artemis – Book

To add to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

19 thoughts on “On the Horizon – artemis (Andy Weir)

  1. Excellent – I loved your comment about Jazz being smart but having no common sense. Apparently common sense isn’t as common as is made out. Very insightful – she certainly does make some terrible decisions.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh, dang gurl! You so lucky you got to read this book! I was wondering whether I should buy this book or not but when you said that the main protag. is a Muslim *screams* getting this book ASAP. Plus, he will be visiting Dubai in March hopefully. Maybe I’ll get him to sign it 😛

    Awesome review as always ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really love your review, Cap. And you’ve absolutely nailed Jazz – highly intelligent with NO common sense. I worked at Cranfield Institute of Technology another lifetime ago, which was FULL of really brilliant young men and women without sufficient sense to keep themselves fed and clothed, some of them… I think Weir had a particular person in mind who he based Jazz on – but that is just conjecture:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have several scientist type friends that are just like the absent-minded professor type. People can be intelligent and then not use their brains when they should. I sadly speak from experience. Of course sometimes crazy adventures come from it too. But overall I rather be crafty and logical.
      x The Captain

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful review, Captain. This has been on my radar ever since they announced. The premise is hella ambitious and sounded like soooo much fun. Jazz definitely does sound like someone that would annoy me a little too… I’m not an avid reader of YA stories, and characters who speak like YA characters…. Argh… I haven’t read The Martian too (only saw the movie) but I think I’ll give Artemis a shot though. The humour does sound really good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

