On the Horizon – bannerless (Carrie Vaughn)

Ahoy there me mateys!  I received this sci-fi eARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  So here be me honest musings . . .

bannerless (Carrie Vaughn)

Title: bannerless

Author: Carrie Vaughn

Publisher: John Joseph Adams / Mariner Books

Publication Date: TODAY!!! (paperback/e-book)

ISBN: 978-0544947306

Source: NetGalley

I had previously read and enjoyed Carrie Vaughn’s young adult sci-fi novel, martians abroad.  When I saw that she had a dystopian murder mystery sci-fi coming out, I was excited to read it.  And it exceeded me expectations.

The story is set “after the fall” in the coastal United States.  The coast has flooded.  Cities have fallen.  The world is slowly rebuilding.  The novel follows Enid, a young Investigator who helps police the towns along the Coastal Road.  That job involves anything from helping people in the aftermath of storms, settling disputes, or in this case, investigating an extremely rare potential murder.

This book totally worked for me based on the strength of the world-building and Enid’s character.  It was a thrilling character study of one person living at the beginnings of a new era.  The people in Enid’s part of the world have been rebuilding through generations in an agrarian society where people live in structured households and must earn the right to bear children.  Going against the norms are frowned upon because no one wants to repeat the mistakes of the past.  When an outcast in another town is found dead, an investigation is requested.  Enid takes the lead on her first major case where the stakes keep getting higher.

Now the murder mystery was a fun background but is not the true point of the story.  This novel is really structured around Enid’s life both past and present.  This involves the fantastic use of flashbacks that help the reader understand some of the reasons Enid chooses to take the steps she does in the solving the crime.  Enid is inherently curious and wants to be helpful.  Because of the fall, society has lost so much knowledge.  While the rest of the people seem to be focused on the future, Enid ponders both the past and the present.  This is a dystopian with an optimistic outlook.  I would love to have Enid on me crew.

I enjoyed the glimpses into why the world fell, the societies that exist outside the coastal road, the seemingly realistic mix of old technologies and new, the strong place of women in society, and above all watching Enid’s journey.  I will certainly be reading more of this author’s work.

 

So lastly . . .

Thank you John Joseph Adams / Mariner Books!

Netgalley’s website has this to say about the novel:

To visit the author’s website go to:

Carrie Vaughn – Author

To buy the novel go to:

bannerless – Book

To add to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

Previous Log Entries for this Author

martians abroad (On the Horizon – Young Adult Fantasy)

6 thoughts on “On the Horizon – bannerless (Carrie Vaughn)

  1. A dystopian murder mystery sorta has me right there lol. and I’ve seen Martians Abroad and it looks good- I may have to take a hard look at this one as well. I like a dystopian with an optimistic slant, and the world building sounds really interesting too.

    Like

  2. I do think that bannerless is the stronger book but martians abroad is fun if somewhat predictable. I will certainly pick up more of her works at some point. I don’t really do urban fantasy that much so I will have to check out the rest of her catalog. Though she writes well enough that maybe I would enjoy her urban stuff as well 🙂
    x The Captain

    Like

Leave a Reply

