Broadside No. 15 – Piers Anthony

Ahoy there me mateys!  Welcome to the fifteenth broadside – the Piers Anthony edition.  Okay this is an odd choice for a broadside I must admit given that I haven’t read anything by this author in over 19 years.  So why ye ask do I include him?  Well back in the day I read 68 of his novels.  Insane yes.  The reason he came to mind is that I was at a Friends of the Library sale and there was my favorite series by him in all its glory for a couple of dollars.  I had a sudden urge to reread them and scooped them up.  I plan on reading them at some point this year and see what the much older me thinks of them now.  And of course I will share me second reflections with me crew!

Please note: All book descriptions are from Goodreads and book title links lead to Goodreads.

bio of a space tyrant series:

This is the series that I found at the library sale.  The story concerns Hope Hubris working his way from being a refugee to the ruler of the galaxy.  In me mind it’s a dystopian series.  The blurb for book one made me laugh because I remember so little of the novels at this point.  Space pirates!  I should at least recall them.  Also I forgot that I gave book one a five star rating based on vague memories from quite more than a decade ago.  Shall it hold up?  I accept me own challenge!  Read the series again!

Goodreads has this to say about book one, refugee:

Vol. 1 Refugee

CALIGULA OF THE STARS

Though he was later accused of every crime and sexual perversion in the galaxy, Hope Hubris began as an innocent. Because he defended his older sister against the violent lusts of a wealthy scion, Hope and his peasant family were forced to flee Callisto, one of the moons of Jupiter. Pursued by the bloodthirsty scions across the airless desert, they barely escaped with their lives. The illegal space bubble was overcrowded with refugees, all hoping to reach Jupiter for asylum.

But the space travelers had not reckoned on the terrible threat of high space-the pirates, barbaric men who rape, rob, and murder, with no thought but to satisfy their bestial appetites. It will take all Hope’s ingenuity to survive, but the atrocities he witnesses will never die. There is only one way he can be rid of them . . .

REVENGE

incarnations of immortality series:

To sum them loosely up (thanks Wikipedia): “The first seven books each focus on one of seven supernatural ‘offices’ (Death, Time, Fate, War, Nature, Evil, and Good) in a fictional reality and history parallel to ours, with the exception that society has advanced both magic and modern technology. The series covers the adventures and struggles of a group of humans called ‘Incarnations’, who hold these supernatural positions for a certain time.”  Of course me favorite two books in the series dealt with Death and Evil.  Hmmmmm.

Goodreads has this to say about book one, on a pale horse:

When Zane shoots Death, he has to take the job, speeding over the world riding Mortis, his pale horse/limo, measuring souls for the exact balance of Good and Evil, sending each to Heaven or Hell instead of Purgatory. The new Thanatos is superbly competent, ends pain when he ends lives. But Satan is forging a trap for Luna, the woman Death loves.

geodyssey series:

The books I read follow characters born at the beginning of human history who then become reincarnated through different periods of time and into our future.  There are apparently five books now.  I only read two.  What I liked about the premise was getting looks at periods in history through characters that I grew to know.  Perhaps I will have to read the remaining three at some point.  They can be read as standalones.

Goodreads has this to say about book one, isle of woman:

A magnificent saga of passion, heroism, and survival, Piers Anthony’s Isle of Woman is a tale like no other ever written. It is nothing less than the story of humanity itself, from its savage origins to its troubled future, told through the lives on one family reborn throughout history.

At once grand in scope and intimate in human detail, Isle of Woman tells the story of a man and a woman born at the dawn of human history, separated by fate, yet united by an unquenchable passion that even time could not conquer: Blaze, the fireworker who raised his kind out of savagery, and Ember, the beautiful green-eyed woman who forever haunted his dreams.

Isle of Woman is a powerful and prophetic masterwork from one of the bestselling storytellers of our time.

xanth series:

Okay I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the series that started it all.  These books take place in an alternate world that looks surprisingly like Florida where there is magic and puns.  I read way too many of these before the puns and age wore me down.  While I remember several aspects like nightmares (a horse that delivers dreams) with fondness, I can’t really see meself readin’ any of these again.

Goodreads has this to say about book one, a spell for chameleon:

Xanth was the enchanted land where magic ruled – where every citizen had a special spell only he could cast. It was a land of centaurs and dragons and basilisks.

For Bink of North Village, however, Xanth was no fairy tale. He alone had no magic. And unless he got some – and got some fast! – he would be exiled. Forever!

But the Good Magician Humfrey was convinced that Bink did indeed have magic. In fact, both Beauregard the genie and the magic wall chart insisted that Bink had magic. Magic as powerful as any possessed by the King or by Good Magician Humfrey – or even by the Evil Magician Trent

Be that as it may, no one could fathom the nature of Bink’s very special magic. Bink was in despair. This was even worse than having no magic at all..and he would still be exiled!

So that be me introduction to Piers Anthony’s novels.  Be on the lookout for second reflections of the bio of a space tyrant series.  If ye haven’t read any of his novels I would suggest ye hoist those sails and get moving!

To visit his website go to:

Piers Anthony – Author

To see a complete list of all books he has written visit:

Piers Anthony – Books

To add this author or his novels to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

If ye missed me other author broadsides:

Garth Nix – No. 1

Sharon Shinn – No. 2

John Scalzi – No. 3

Tamora Pierce – No. 4

Brandon Sanderson – No. 5

Robin McKinley – No. 6

Michael Crichton – No. 7

Mercedes Lackey – No. 8

Dean Kootnz – No. 9

Justine Larbalestier – No. 10

Neil Gaiman – No. 11

Kate Elliot – No. 12

George R.R. Martin – No. 13

Rosemary Kirstein – No. 14

8 thoughts on “Broadside No. 15 – Piers Anthony

  1. I read Space Tyrant in highschool. Don’t remember much about it.
    I never got into Xanth because I don’t like puns, so a whole series predicated on that idea really didn’t appeal to me.

    I did read his Kelvin of Rud series [coauthored with Robert margroff] in highschool as well. Don’t remember a thing about it. Maybe I’ll add those to my tbr.

    Looking forward to what you re-think of Space Tyrant.

    Like

    1. I also read the Kelvin of Rud series and I don’t remember anything about it either. The Xanth puns were fun in the beginning but eventually got overwhelming because he would include every pun that readers sent to him in the next book. And man those readers came up with a lot. Thanks fer the comment matey!
      x The Captain

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I read a Xanth book or two when I was younger, like probably 14 or something. For some reason I never did continue w/ the series. 68 books! Wow I knew he had written a lot but I didn’t know there were that many. I’d be really curious to see what you think of the ones you revisit. .

    Like

    1. Thanks fer the comment matey. It took me a while to find it because it was stuck in me spam queue. Freed! I am super curious at how his writing will hold up. And a wee bit nervous I must admit. We shall see . . .
      x The Captain

      Like

Leave a Reply

