Here be Dragons – the copper promise

Ahoy there me mateys!  So along with me love of the sea, I also have had a fierce love of dragons.  The Copper Cat Trilogy, of which this is book one, was on someone’s list of awesome dragon books.  The problem was that the author lives in London, the books were published in the UK, and I was not anywhere near that port!  Getting a hold of these novels was proving troublesome.  Then I heard rumors of books one and two being found on the other side of the pond.  Arrrrr!  Got me copies.

I found this one to be a highly enjoyable read.  While the dragon is fun (aren’t they all) the highlights for me were the characters of Wydrin, Frith, and Gallo.  Wydrin is the Copper Cat of the story.  She is strong, intelligent, snarky, and loves her knives.  Frith is a complete and total jerk whom I ended up loving anyway.  And well Gallo just has to be experienced fer yerself.

The magic in this story made me happy.  The plot diverges a bit with a stint on an island of magical training but I adored that entire section.  I also adored a creation of the dragon’s called “the brood.”  Books are cleverly involved.  The dragon is more like a force of nature.  In my mind she was like a giant locus devouring everything in her path with flames and fury.  She is not a nice dragon.

The only minor problems that I had were that the world building was kinda neutral and that I didn’t love how the dragon was dealt with in the ending.  I am told that book one was originally four shorter stories that tied together.  That aspect makes a lot of sense.  That being said, I loved the characters and so will likely read book two at some point (plus I already own it – Arrrr!).

Don’t just take me word fer it.  Check out these other reviews from me crew:

mogsy @ thebibliosanctum

lynn @ lynnsbooks

The author’s website has this to say about the novel:

There are some far-fetched rumours about the caverns beneath the Citadel: some say the mages left their most dangerous secrets hidden there; others, that great riches are hidden there; even that gods have been imprisoned in its darkest depths. For Lord Frith, the caverns hold the key to his vengeance. Against all the odds, he has survived torture and lived to see his home and his family taken from him … and now someone is going to pay. For Wydrin of Crosshaven and her faithful companion, Sir Sebastian Carverson, a quest to the Citadel looks like just another job. There’s the promise of gold and adventure. Who knows, they might even have a decent tale or two once they’re done. But sometimes there is truth in rumour. Sometimes it pays to listen. Soon this reckless trio will become the last line of defence against a hungry, restless terror that wants to tear the world apart. And they’re not even getting paid.

To visit the author’s website go to:

Jen Williams – Author

To buy the e-book go to:

the copper cat – Book

To add to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

4 thoughts on “Here be Dragons – the copper promise

Leave a Reply

