On the Horizon – lightning in the blood (Marie Brennan)

Ahoy there me mateys!  I received this fantasy eARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  So here be me honest musings . . .

lightning in the blood (Marie Brennan)

Title: lightning in the blood

Author: Marie Brennan

Publisher: Macmillian-Tor/Forge

Publication Date: April 25, 2017 (paperback/e-book)

ISBN: 978-0765392015

Source: NetGalley

If ye haven’t read the first book in this series,  cold-forged flame, then ye might want to skip this post and go read me review for the first installment.  If ye keep reading this log then ye have been forewarned and continue at yer own peril . . .

Now I cannot say enough goodness about the first book.  I reread it in preparation for this second installment and enjoyed it just as much the second time around.  I adore Ree as a character and the world-building so very much.  I cannot believe I had to wait 268 days between the two, however it was worth the wait!

One of the awesome circumstances of the first story is that Ree cannot remember anything about herself, her nature, or even her name.  I am a sucker for that kinda thing.  By the end of story one, ye know her partial name and some of her nature but have way more questions than answers.  As does Ree.

I was so exited to see where she would go next.  It of course did not go anywhere that I expected!  This story takes place several years after the events in the first one.  While this episode has a lot less mystery than the first, I still found it engrossing and enthralling.  In this second installment, Ree meets another archon which sets off another mission fer Ree, answers some of her questions, and of course gives her so many more.  My favorite aspects are following Ree in her journey to reclaim parts of herself and her attempts to figure out what has been lost.  The glimpses ye do get are tantalizing.  It was also extremely nice to see Aadet again.  Oh and this cover is awesome:

Don’t ye want to read about giant black cats?  Ye know ye do.  And that is all I am going to say about this one cause it is short and awesome and ye should discover what happens fer yerself.  I want the third one!

Random fact about book two from the author’s website is this:

And you’ll see the Mayan calendrical system with a minor fictional paint job showing up in Lightning in the Blood because years ago I read about it for fun and wound up incorporating it into a story more or less wholesale, complete with fiddly little details about Year-Bearers.

I need to go off an’ do research bout Mayan calendrical systems now.  Go out and get the first episode if ye haven’t.  Read this one if ye have.

So lastly . . .

Thank you Macmillian-Tor/Forge!

The author’s website has this to say about the novel:

Once, there was a call–a binding–and so, a woman appeared, present in body but absent in knowledge of her past self. Making the ultimate journey of rediscovery was not without its own pitfalls–or rewards–and now Ree, a roaming archon, spirit of legend and time and physically now bound to her current form, has yet to fully uncover her true identity.

Ree has spent her last innumerable seasons on the move–orbiting, in some sense, the lands of her only friend in this world, Aadet, who has become intricately involved in the new post-revolution politics of his people. Swinging back from the forests surrounding Solaike, Ree falls in with another wandering band, some Korenat refugees searching for their own protection on a trade route besieged with the fallout of the recent uprising. The Korenat’s plight might not have stricken Ree so deeply, but they are accompanied by their own archon, who seems to know much more about Ree’s own origins than she ever dared to hope.

Lushly woven against a foreign, and yet familiar, fantastical setting, this is the second epic adventure in Marie Brennan’s novella series with Tor.com. Only such an acclaimed and beloved fantasist could so deftly handle the intricacies of self and society, the struggle between reclaiming one’s own fate and suffering the ravages that time brings to every life.

To visit the author’s website go to:

Marie Brennan – Author

To buy the novel please visit:

lightning in the blood – Book

To add to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

9 thoughts on “On the Horizon – lightning in the blood (Marie Brennan)

  1. Strangely enough I do want to read about giant cats! I love the sound of this and plus – Marie Brennan, but I’m being good at the moment and restricting my review books – in some sort of vein attempt to catch up.
    Glad you’re loving these though – I will eventually get to this.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

    1. They are both short and wonderful. I have been thinking about perhaps reading more of Marie Brennan’s Lady Trent series. I was telling the first mate about other things she had written and those came up. I did read book one way back when. Me review books have gotten back out of control. I think I am at 11 though I am not positive. It was at zero. Hopefully they are all good! Thanks fer visitin’
      x The Captain

      Like

  2. I love reading about giant black cats. Giant cats were in Robin McKinley’s The Hero and the Crown, and is a small reason why I liked it. Though by the time they popped up, I was already in love with the book.

    Like

    1. Ahoy there matey. If I could have a giant intelligent preferably telepathic cat I would be very happy. Not that me little rapscallions kittens are not wonderful mind ye. I loved Robin McKinley’s books. Dragons and cats. Awesome.
      x The Captain

      Like

  3. I, like you, absolutely LOVED the first book – I thought it a tour de force, although I haven’t yet posted my review of it. However, I’ll confess to feeling a bit disappointed about this offering. I felt that Brennan squeezed a novel-sized story into a novella and that consequently the narrative arc and pacing suffered. While I do like Ree, I found it difficult to care about many of the other characters as much as I needed to in order to become fully engrossed. That said, it may be me… while there are a handful of novellas I love – Cold-Forged Flame and Lois McMaster Bujold’s awesome Penric and the Demon series being honourable exceptions – I mostly find it very frustrating as I’m just getting into the swing of the story just as it comes to an end.

    Like

    1. I definitely feel the first novella is practically perfect. I loved Ree so getting more of her story was awesome. I do think the particular story told was an odd choice but overall I enjoyed it. I do think these could easily be expanded into novels and that I would love that. But novels are me preferred length. I keep requested books from NetGalley and then finding out that they are novellas or short story collections. The first mate says it is good fer me to go outside me comfort zone every now and again. Adventure spices up life. I haven’t read the Penric ones. I will have to look that up.
      x The Captain

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I agree with you regarding the first novella – I suppose that was part of the problem, as I started reading it expecting the same pin-sharp pacing and characterisation. And it wasn’t so. Do track down the Penric series – they are also reasonably priced, which is another problem I often have with novellas…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

