On the Horizon – the bone witch (Rin Chupeco)

Ahoy there me mateys!  I received this young adult fantasy eARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  So here be me honest musings . . .

the bone witch (Rin Chupeco)

Title: the bone witch

Author: Rin Chupeco

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Publication Date: TODAY!! (hardback/e-book)

ISBN: 978-1492635826

Source: NetGalley

This novel be pure magic.  I read it in one sitting and fell in love with the author’s writing and the world she created.  The main character, Tea, learns that she is a bone witch when she instinctively raises her brother from the dead in her grief.  Because of the rarity of her powers and the fact that bone witches be hated and feared, Tea leaves her family to train and learn to control her powers.

The novel is told from two perspectives – Tea in the past and a bard in the present.  I loved the juxtaposition of witnessing Tea’s thoughts about training and the bard’s views of what she looks like to an “outsider” in her full strength and poise.

This novel is slow paced but filled with glorious details.  It was the details that made the world and story come vividly to life.  Things like the descriptions of magic woven into clothing, the elaborate training of the witches (known as asha). the different ethnicities of people, or even types food, made me feel that the author was describing a real place.  Or at least a place well known to her.

Add in fantastical creatures called the daeva and I was mesmerized.  What are daeva?  Well according to the author’s website they are “Deadly creatures that roam the land . . . To defeat these beasts, one must find and rip their bezoar from their bodies – although such an action is only a temporary respite, as they are capable of resurrection.”  They are all different shapes and sizes.  How Tea deals with these monsters is at the heart of the story and one of the main reasons I loved it.

This book was a lovely set-up.  I will definitely be reading the next book in the series when it comes out and while impatiently waiting, I will try and get me grubby mitts on her debut novel, the girl from the well.

Side note: the author’s about me page is awesome!  In fact, I rather enjoyed pursuing the whole site.  Check it out.

So lastly . . .

Thank you Sourcebooks Fire!

Netgalley’s website has this to say about the novel:

To visit the author’s website go to:

Rin Chupeco – Author

To buy the novel go to:

the bone witch – Book

To add to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

Keep a Weathered Eye Out for Sourcebook Fire’s Other Offerings Like:

labyrinth lost (Zoraida Cordova)

One thought on “On the Horizon – the bone witch (Rin Chupeco)

  1. I struggled with this one being what felt like such a long “set up” or introduction to the story. The concept is brilliant and I even fell in love with the writing at times. But in the end, the lengthy descriptive narration made it challenging for me. I have not completely written of the sequel though. I did pick up The Girl from the Well to try to give her earlier work a fair shot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

