Abandoned Ship On the Horizon – winter song (S. Jae-Jones)

Ahoy there me mateys!  I received this fantasy eARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  So here be me honest musings . . .

wintersong (S. Jae-Jones)

Title: wintersong

Author: S. Jae-Jones

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press / Thomas Dunne Books

Publication Date: February 7, 2017 (Hardcover/E-Book)

ISBN: 9781250079213

Source: NetGalley

Upon reading the synopsis and the author blurbs, I thought this novel would float me boat. But I just could not finish it and had to abandon ship at 31%.  Why ye ask?  Well for a myriad of reasons:

  • I kept comparing it to the bear and the nightingale which I loved.  This book kept coming up short.  While this is not the author’s fault, I just fpund this one similar but lacking.
  • I could not connect to the main character, Liesl.  She continued to make bad choices throughout the part I read, even when forewarned.  I like me heroines to be intelligent and to learn from their mistakes.  Liesl seemed to jump feet first into everything without thinking about any consequences.  She also seemed to be a rather selfish character who whined about how woeful her life was.
  • The contest between Liesl and the Goblin King was so odd.  Part one was over before it really began and part two was predictable and rather annoying.  I didn’t stick around for part three.
  • This book deals with music.  A lot.  I have no musical ability whatsoever and so these parts went over me head or were just kinda boring.  Liesl spend pretty much the whole portion of what I read lamenting that girls cannot be composers in the turn of the 19th century.  This may be a selling point for someone else but not me.
  • I didn’t like the Goblin King or the goblin world at all.  For some reason, I thought that the Goblin King and goblins would prove to be different then the usual versions in this retelling.  I was wrong.
  • I really didn’t understand why Liesel had anything to do with the Goblin King as a child and why she ever found him fascinating or called him a friend.
  • The pacing was slow.  I was not engaged in the story and just wanted something interesting to happen.

With so many books on the horizon, I just gave up.  I want me reading to make time seem to disappear, not to accentuate every second passing.  I am sad, but I couldn’t fight the tide.

If ye want to read another take on this novel of a crew member that loved it check out this review from Lola @ Hit or Miss Books.

So lastly . . .

Thank you St. Martin’s Press / Thomas Dunne Books!

Goodreads has this to say about the novel:

Beware the goblin men and the wares they sell.

All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns.

But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts.

Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin King’s bride. As the two of them grow closer, they must learn just what it is they are each willing to sacrifice: her life, her music, or the end of the world.

To visit the author’s website go to:

S. Jae-Jones – Author

To buy the novel go to:

wintersong – Book

To add to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

4 thoughts on “Abandoned Ship On the Horizon – winter song (S. Jae-Jones)

    1. I certainly am willing to give her another shot. I did enjoy a lot of her writing style and some of the world building details. I think I would wait until it came out and read some reviews before deciding though. Thanks for visiting.
      x The Captain

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

