The Captain’s Log – when the moon was ours (Anna-Marie McLemore))

Ahoy there me mateys!  The beautiful cover is what drew me to this novel:

When I read the book blurb, I was intrigued.  And yet nothing could have prepared me for the impact this novel would have on me.  It is magical realism at its best.

The book is the story of two best friends, Miel and Sam, who are inseparable growing up.  But both have secrets from the world and each other.  As the two children enter young adulthood, each has to confront both their pasts and what they want their future to be like.

I particularly loved the two adult women in the story; Sam’s mother in particular was an amazing woman in her own right but also is a fantastic example of what a parent should be.

The writing style of this book was lyrical and beautiful.  Yet the book is filled with poignant and painful moments of what people can do to each other out of misunderstanding and fear  The juxtaposition of the imagery in the writing and the subject matter somehow made the feelings of the characters that much more substantial and heartfelt.  I really don’t know how to explain it adequately.  My heart just ached in the story for the beauty of the characters, the struggles they go through, and ultimately the resolution of the novel.

This is a strong novel that ye shouldn’t miss.  It is a novel that lingers days afterwords.  If ye don’t want to take me word for it, check out some other reviews of this one from some of me crew like:

Fadwa @ word wonders

Lily @ lair of books

The author’s website has this to say about the novel:

To everyone who knows them, best friends Miel and Sam are as strange as they are inseperable. Roses grow out of Miel’s wrist, and rumors say she spilled out of a water tower when she was five. Sam is known for the moons he paints and hangs in the trees, and for how little anyone knows about his life before he and his mother moved to town.

But as odd as everyone considers Miel and Sam, even they stay away from the Bonner girls, four beautiful sisters rumored to be witches. Now they want the roses that grow from Miel’s skin, and they’re willing to use every secret Miel has fought to protect to make sure she gives them up.

To visit the author’s website go to:

Anna-Marie McLemore – Author

To buy the novel visit:

when the moon was ours – Book

To add to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

6 thoughts on “The Captain’s Log – when the moon was ours (Anna-Marie McLemore))

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed reading When The Moon Was Ours! Thank you for mentioning my review 😊💕this book truly does linger afterwards both for the story & the lush imagery. I agree with you on Sam’s mother, an AMAZING woman and perfect example of a good parent. This was Magical Realism at its best 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so happy you loved this book as much as I did. It’s definitely one I’ll carry with me my whole life and this is a great review for it 😀
    I LOVED Sam’s mom as well, she is such a role model!
    Also, thank you for mentionning my review! 😙

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

