Abandon Ship – sora’s quest (T.L. Shreffler)

It is time to abandon ship me mateys!

sora’s quest (T.L. Shreffler)

I heard about this novel from Angela @ pooled ink who wrote a raving review.  In fact, the review was so exuberant in its praise, that I immediately went and downloaded the novel, which was available for free on Amazon.

Now I had issues with this novel at the start.  I didn’t like the prologue.  But I thought to meself, “well, we are obviously not supposed to like the bad guy.” So I kept going.  Then the novel proper started and we were introduced to the heroine.

The main character Sora was a whiny brat of a 17 year old.  Yes, her father is a bit of an unlovable jerk but she didn’t seem to have the worst life.  I mean, I get that she doesn’t want to marry.  I was cool with that.  However, she didn’t seem to have any other plans except to run away.  And how she went about it didn’t seem that bright.

Now of course as she is attempting to run away, she is instead kidnapped by an assassin.  I have a soft spot for assassin novels, so I got excited and thought that here is where it is going to start getting good.

Sadly that was not true for me.  New characters kept getting introduced and I didn’t like any of them.  Not only that, but the world building seemed almost non-existent and flat.  Add to the fact that the group wanders in the swamp in seemingly circles for the majority of the novel and I just couldn’t take it anymore.

Now if I found the novel so irksome then why ye ask did I read to 79 percent?  Because I somehow wanted to magically capture the reading enjoyment that Angela had.  I mean, obviously she loved it and she quickly downloaded and gobbled up the remainder of the series.  I kept thinking that if I kept reading the hook would catch me and the enthrallment would begin.

But this seems to be a case of this novel not being for me .  I had to abandon the book and subsequently the series.

I am glad however that it has captured the fancy of other readers.  So don’t necessarily take me word for it.  Read the pooled ink’s contrasting viewpoint and if ye like to give this one a chance.

As always I find when people disagree with me reading tastes to be sort of fascinating.

The author’s website has this to say about the novel:

Sora Fallcrest always dreamed of adventure, but as a member of the nobility, she learned the ways of a Lady instead. Now seventeen, she is expected to choose a husband and marry. She plots to run away, but just as she is stepping out the door, she runs into a mysterious man and is kidnapped.

Abducted from her manor, Sora is plunged into a world of magical races, arcane jewelry and forgotten lore. She finds herself at the mercy of a dangerous assassin, haunted by an even darker past. She yearns for freedom, but he won’t let her go–not when her Cat’s Eye necklace is the only thing that can save his life.

But the necklace itself presents a problem. It is an ancient device from the long forgotten War of the Races, and its magic has the ability to steal souls. Can Sora learn to wield its power–or will the power wield her?

To visit the author’s website go to:

T.L. Shreffler – Author

To buy the book go:

sora’s quest – Book

To add to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

7 thoughts on “Abandon Ship – sora’s quest (T.L. Shreffler)

  1. I just had a similar experience. That is too bad. Sometimes it just isn’t there. I try to remind myself that reading is such an individualized experience. But disliking characters or not connecting with them will always doom a book for me. And if the prologue is too bad.. well chances of fairing are getting slim. Great review!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Oh no! I’m so sorry you didn’t enjoy it, but thank you for linking to my review. I admit it took me a bit to settle into the story and I do have a feeling if I thought harder about it I’d find all sorts of issues. I don’t know, for whatever mysterious reason it just clicked with me. It’s so oddly true though how individualized a reading experience can be! Even the best books have readers who just didn’t quite feel it. I’m always happy when a book excites me and I always want others to feel that too so I’m sorry it didn’t work out for you. Good review though! I enjoyed reading your thoughts (: I hope your next read does not disappoint you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

