The Captain’s Log – the blood mirror (Brent Weeks)

Ahoy there me mateys!  This novel is the fourth in the Lightbringer series.  If ye haven’t read any of this series then ye might want to skip this post and go read the first book, the black prism.  Worth the read.  If ye keep reading this log then ye have been forewarned and continue at yer own peril.

So I was introduced to this author by the Night Angel Trilogy which dealt with assassins.  Hooray!  So when he began his new series I was super excited.  I ended up loved the first novel, and I continued to love the next two in the series.  In fact looking at me Goodreads reviews, I apparently gave all of his books 5 stars because that is how much they struck me fancy.

I am therefore a little confuzzled as to why this one didn’t float me boat like the last three did.  While I did enjoy it, parts of it irked me.  I will not give away any plot points but here are me overall feelings:

  • I rather liked the series recap at the beginning of the novel.  Normally recaps are bothersome but for some reason I liked getting the in-depth review of the series thus far.
  • I continue to adore Teia.  She has become me favorite character in the series and not just because of her skills.  Her choices seem to always suck and I can never guess where her storyline is going.  I love watching her grow as a character.
  • Gavin’s chapters surprisingly were some of me least favorite sections of the book.  I adored him in previous books but his chapters in this book seem to be rather dull.  His inner struggle in this one began with a bang and grew to annoy me.  I felt like nothing was resolved with him and he didn’t really change or do anything at all.  Of course there is a major plot twist in this book concerning his powers and his history which I rather loved.
  • Karris was another highlight in the book for me.  Again I love the strong women.  She continues to evolve from book to book and I enjoy watching her deal with what fate is handing her.  There were some major problems set up for her in this novel and I am interested in how she will handle them in the next book.
  • The Kip sections also dragged a lot for me.  Not enough action and too focused on sex.  Some of the battle and magic elements involving him were awesome but overall I again felt that with this character nothing happened.  His sections almost seemed like set-up for the next book only.
  • The Mighty – can these man-boys please grow up and get over the sex jokes and young male stupidity already.  It was tiresome.  And a shame because I like many of their characters individually.
  • There were not a lot of sections dealing with Liv Danavis but oh do I want to know what happens next with her.
  • Master Sharp still creeps me out!  Ugh.
  • When and how (or will?) Andross finally get his comeuppance?
  • That ending!  It desperately makes me want to know what happens next!

So basically this book felt like the action and plot stalled to set-up the next book.  Almost like a placeholder.  The last three books kept me on the edge and impatiently waiting for the next installment.  I still loved the book overall but I had some quibbles.  Those aside, I still want the next book in the series.  I continue to enjoy this author’s work and want more!

Goodreads has this to say about the novel:

Stripped of both magical and political power, the people he once ruled told he’s dead, and now imprisoned in his own magical dungeon, former Emperor Gavin Guile has no prospect of escape. But the world faces a calamity greater than the Seven Satrapies has ever seen… and only he can save it.

As the armies of the White King defeat the Chromeria and old gods are born anew, the fate of worlds will come down to one question: Who is the Lightbringer?

To visit the author’s website go to:

Brent Weeks – Author

To buy the book go:

the blood mirror – Book

To add to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

2 thoughts on “The Captain’s Log – the blood mirror (Brent Weeks)

Leave a Reply

