On the Horizon – faller (Will McIntosh)

Ahoy there me mateys!  I received this sci-fi thriller eARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  So here be me honest musings . . .

faller (Will McIntosh)

Title: faller

Author: Will McIntosh

Publisher: Macmillan-Tor/Forge

Publication Date: October 25, 2016 (hardcover/e-book)

ISBN: 9780765383556

Source: NetGalley

I have loved this author’s work ever since I read love minus eighty and have gobbled up all of his novels but one.

Side note: Get me hands on soft apocalypse!

So I was thrilled to read this one.  It was extremely fun.  The story is set in a post-apocalyptic world where people wake up on Day One with no memories of who they are or even where they are.  Terrifying concept.  Most people are just struggling to survive.  One man, Faller, wants more.  He wants answers.

So with just three clues in his pockets, Faller sets out on an adventure.

And what an odd adventure.  This book splits into sections about the present that Faller is experiencing and the past of how the world became what it is.  Personally, the present sections were the most fun.  The past sections didn’t bore me but I always wanted to rush through to get back to Faller.

As usual, many of the physics concepts went over me head as physics is want to do.  And, as usual, I loved the consequences of those physics principals.  The world building was certainly unique.  I don’t believe I would ever want to live in a world like it.  I am glad I could read about it though.

While Faller was definitely me favorite character, I also very much enjoyed side characters like Storm and One-Thirty-One.  For me the only downsides of this novel were that not all questions are answered even though many of the pieces tied together nicely.  And the ending!  I didn’t hate all of it and I didn’t love all of it.  It was just different.

It was certainly a fast read and I am glad I read it.  I will read the next book he writes, too.  If ye have never read a book by this author, I would start with a different one because I do not think this is the best introduction to his work.  Though I do believe if ye haven’t read anything by this author, ye should pick one of his books up.

Additional side note:  On release day, Mr. McIntosh had this fun fact on his blog about the novel:

FALLER is based on a dream, and not just any dream, but the dream that kicked off my entire writing career. When I dreamed what became FALLER the dream was so vivid, and felt so much like a science fiction story, that I decided to try writing it down. It was the first SF story I ever wrote, and set me on a path that eventually led me to resign my tenured position as a psychology professor to write full time.

If you decide to give FALLER a try, I hope you enjoy it.

I certainly did.

If ye want a viewpoint from another member of me crew check out the review by Kim @ By Hook or By Book.

So lastly . . .

Thank you Macmillan-Tor/Forge!

Netgalley’s website has this to say about the novel:

To visit the author’s website go to:

Will McIntosh – Author

To buy the novel please visit:

faller – Book

To add to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

Previous Log Entries for this Author

burning midnight (Captain’s Log – Young Adult Fantasy)

hitchers (Dead Men Tell No Tales)

2 thoughts on “On the Horizon – faller (Will McIntosh)

Leave a Reply

