On the Horizon – the imlen brat (Sarah Avery)

Ahoy there me mateys!  I received this fantasy eARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  So here be me honest musings . . .

the imlen brat (Sarah Avery)

Title: the imlen brat

Author: Sarah Avery

Illustrator: Kate Baylay

Publisher: Point Quay Press

Publication Date: TODAY!! (e-book)

ISBN: 9780997414035

Source: NetGalley

Me first thought after completing this book was “That’s all? . . .  F*ck I did it again!”  Arrrrghhh!  Remember the last time I thought a novella was a novel?  Yup.  This too is a novella, and I want more!

The title of this story is what caught me attention.  The protagonist is 7 year old Stisele of Imlen.  The brat.  She is a member of the royal court as an adoptive daughter of the ruler.  Stisele is considered to have unfortunate parentage and her current situation stems from her birth.

She is a stubborn, feisty, knucklehead.  She wants to be a pirate!  The author does a great job of making Stisele a bratty child with an unusual presence that makes her so engaging.

The small glimpse given of the world building, characters, magic and politics were so compelling that I am greedy for more.  I don’t want to spoil it for ye though so this be all the details yer gettin’ . . .

Side note: this novella was completed with the help of a Kickstarter.  Cool huh?

So lastly . . .

Thank you Point Quay Press!

Normally I place the book blurb here but I be of the belief that it gives too much away . . .

To visit the author’s website go to:

Sarah Avery – Author

To buy the novel please visit:

the imlen brat – Book

To add to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

3 thoughts on “On the Horizon – the imlen brat (Sarah Avery)

Leave a Reply

