The Captain’s Log – Goldenhand (Garth Nix)

Ahoy there me mateys!  This novel is the fifth in the Abhorsen/Old Kingdom series written by one of me favorite authors.  In fact I love this author so much that he was the featured author in me Broadside No. 1.  If ye have never read any books in this series, I suggest ye check out me Broadside and start with book one called Sabriel.  If ye keep reading this log then ye have been forewarned and continue at yer own peril.

The book is the fifth book in the series but the fourth in terms of chronology.  I highly enjoyed revisiting the world of the Old Kingdom though this book is not me favorite in the series.

Side note:  I can never make up me mind on whether Sabriel or Lirael is me favorite.  I go back and forth every time I re-read one of them.

In any case, this book felt different then the other four.  I believe it is because it is following several characters at once.  The book tends to be split in the perspective of Lirael and Nick on one hand and then Ferin on the other.  While the other books do sometimes change perspectives, they usually centered on the title character.

I adored Ferin.  She is a new introduction to the series and she rocks.  I loved pretty much everything about her – how we meet her, what her upbringing was like, her viewpoint on the world, and above all, her spunk.  I wouldn’t mind having a whole book just about about her and what happens next..

I enjoyed seeing Lirael again but did not enjoy the development of her relationship with Nick that much.  Now don’t get me wrong.  I liked getting resolution on things hinted at in book three but I wanted to get back to the main plot and the action.

At usual, I loved everything that dealt with Death and the bells.  That is one of the concepts I found to be so satisfying way back when in book one.  I continue to love the Charter marks.  And the entire Old Kingdom in general.

The only thing I would have preferred is a more linear story line than switching back and forth.  However, that might mean removing Ferin and that would break me stony heart.

So I continue to adore Garth Nix and will continue to read everything he will write in the future.  If ye haven’t read anything by this author then pick up the first book of this series.  One of me best mates borrowed the beginning trilogy and loved it so much I gave her me copies as a gift and bought me another set.  They are that good.

Want to see another crew member’s viewpoint of this novel?  Check out this post by Emma @ bluchickenninja.

The author’s website has this to say about the novel:

Lirael is no longer a shy Second Assistant Librarian – she’s now the Abhorsen-in-Waiting, with a new hand, one of gilded steel and Charter Magic.

When she discovers Nicholas Sayre lying unconscious, she uses her powers to save him. But the attack has left Nicholas tainted with Free Magic, so together they embark on a dangerous journey to seek help at Lirael’s childhood home, the Clayr’s Glacier.

To visit the author’s website go to:

Garth Nix – Author

To buy the book go to:

goldenhand – Book

To add to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

4 thoughts on “The Captain’s Log – Goldenhand (Garth Nix)

Leave a Reply

