Broadside No. 7 – Michael Crichton

Ahoy there me mateys!  Welcome to the seventh broadside – the Michael Crichton edition.  While I have only read 8 out of his 22 books (not including ones written under a pseudonym), many of those yarns remain on me favorites list.  Some I re-read periodically because I love them so much.  He started writing to help pay his way through medical school and sometimes wrote a book a week!  Besides being a writer, he was also a filmmaker, teacher, programmer, doctor, and an adventurer.  He passed away in 2008, but his legacy remains.

Please note: All book descriptions are taken directly from the author’s website.  The book title links lead to Goodreads.

Of course the first book I read by him was jurassic park.  I thought DNA testing was super awesome, and we had to read this book as part of a school class.  I was amazed that my school would choose to make a fun thriller into required reading.  Dinosaurs were never so scary or adrenaline inducing.  And of course there is the movie based on the novel.  I loved it.  While I believe the book is better (as usual), the film has some fantastic portrayals – Sam Neill, Laura Dern, Jeff Goldblum, Richard Attenborough, and even Samuel L. Jackson.  Michael Crichton helped with the screenplay so I am sure that helped.

On a voyage to Hawaii, I took a break from the sea to take to the air on a helicopter.  The main destination, the Manawaiopuna Falls otherwise known as the “Jurassic Park Falls” from the movie.  The views were awe-inspiring and yes they played the iconic theme song as we soared over the mountains towards the falls.  I am not usually an excessively sentimental Captain but I may have had a tear or two in me eye . . . caused by the wind of course!

If ye haven’t read this novel or even watched the movie, ye should remedy this.  The plot:

An astonishing technique for recovering and cloning dinosaur DNA has been discovered. Now humankind’s most thrilling fantasies have come true. Creatures extinct for eons roam Jurassic Park with their awesome presence and profound mystery, and all the world can visit them—for a price.Until something goes wrong. . . .

Me personal favorite is sphere.  This novel is the one I re-read the most.  It takes place in an underwater vessel and has startling mystery and a whopper of an ending.  The confined space helps enhance the drama.  I don’t really know how to put me love for this in words (it’s wonderful!) so I will leave ye with the blurb:

In the middle of the South Pacific, a thousand feet below the surface, a huge vessel is unearthed. Rushed to the scene is a team of American scientists who descend together into the depths to investigate the astonishing discovery. What they find defies their imaginations and mocks their attempts at logical explanation. It is a spaceship, but apparently it is undamaged by its fall from the sky. And, most startling, it appears to be at least three hundred years old, containing a terrifying and destructive force that must be controlled at all costs.

The most recent book I read of his was pirate latitudes.  Published post-posthumously, Michael Crichton said at this time ” I’ve been working on this novel about 17th century Caribbean pirates for four years now, which is longer than I’ve ever worked on anything else.”  A wonderful writer dealing with pirates and plunder?  A must read.  And I loved it.

The Caribbean, 1665. A remote colony of the English Crown, the island of Jamaica holds out against the vast supremacy of the Spanish empire. Port Royal, its capital, is a cutthroat town of taverns, grog shops, and bawdy houses. In this steamy climate there’s a living to be made, a living that can end swiftly by disease—or by dagger. For Captain Charles Hunter, gold in Spanish hands is gold for the taking, and the law of the land rests with those ruthless enough to make it.Pirate Latitudes is Michael Crichton at his best: a rollicking adventure tale pulsing with relentless action, crackling atmosphere, and heart-pounding suspense.

While researching for this post, I found out on his website that there is a new book of his that is scheduled for release in May 2017.  His wife Sherri Crichton says “When I came across the DRAGON TEETH manuscript in the filesI was immediately captivated.  It has Michael’s voice, his love of history, research and science all dynamically woven into an epic tale.”  I am excited and shall add this to the ports for plunder list!  Supposedly its about:

. . . the notorious rivalry between real-life paleontologists Edward Drinker Cope and Othniel Charles Marsh during a time of intense fossil speculation and discovery in the American West in 1878. The story unfolds through the adventures of a young fictional character named William Johnson who is apprenticed first to one, then to the other and not only makes discoveries of historic proportion, but transforms into an inspiring hero only Crichton could have imagined. Known for his meticulous research, Crichton uses Marsh and Copes’ heated competition during the ‘Bone Wars,’ the golden age of American fossil hunting, as the basis for a thrilling story set in the wilds of the American West.

So that is my introduction to Michael Crichton.  If you haven’t read any of his novels I would suggest ye hoist those sails and get moving!

To visit his website go to:

Michael Crichton – Author

To see a complete list of all books he has written visit:

Michael Crichton – Books

To add this author or his novels to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

If ye want to see me other author broadsides:

Garth Nix – No. 1

Sharon Shinn – No. 2

John Scalzi – No. 3

Tamora Pierce – No. 4

Brandon Sanderson – No. 5

Robin McKinley – No. 6

12 thoughts on “Broadside No. 7 – Michael Crichton

  1. What an amazing post Captain!! I absolutely loved it! And you did the Jurrasic Park helicopter thing…<3 ❤ (of course it was the wind, or you were just watering your beard and such). I've never actually read a book from Crichton yet, but oh lord, did I love his TV/movie work. Did you know he wrote for ER as well? One of my all-time favourite series!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

