On the Horizon – cold-forged flame (Marie Brennan)

Ahoy there me mateys!  I received this fantasy eARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  So here be me honest musings . . .

cold-forged flame (Marie Brennan)

Title: cold-forged flame

Author: Marie Brennan

Publisher: Macmillian-Tor/Forge

Publication Date: September 13, 2016 (paperback/e-book)

ISBN: 9780765391391

Source: NetGalley

I had previously read this author’s warrior/witch duology and the first novel in her Lady Trent series. I wanted more of her work and this book sounded amazing.  I read this in a sitting and adored it . . .

The worse thing I can say about the reading experience was that I didn’t know it was a novella!  I finished the e-book version and was convinced that I had somehow gotten a weird version.  So I re-downloaded in another format.  Same.  Where were the rest of the chapters?  The story was just getting started.  I wanted the rest.  Grrrrrr!  I was confused as to why me book was so short.

Well, the interwebs then told me it was a novella.  Silly Captain.  However I wouldn’t change me reading experience.  Also I recommend if ye choose to read this, other then the little blurb at the bottom (if ye wish), read no details before beginning.  The way the story unfolds is delightful because I had no clue what the hell was going on.  And even the answers ye do get by the end only whet the appetite for more.  I want the next novella!

The author’s take (from her website) is this:

One of the great things about modern publishing options — ebooks and print on demand — is that they’re allowing that neglected form, the novella, to make a comeback.

Longer than a short story, but shorter than a novel, a novella is a nice middle ground. And hey — if you string a few together, you have episodes, on a much tighter timeline than a series of whole novels. Which is, in fact, what I’m doing here.

Cold-Forged Flame is the first in a sequel of novellas

Go out and get the first episode.

So lastly . . .

Thank you Macmillian-Tor/Forge!

The author’s website has this to say about the novel:

The sound of the horn pierces the apeiron, shattering the stillness of that realm. Its clarion call creates ripples, substance, something more. It is a summons, a command. There is will. There is need.

And so, in reply, there is a woman.

***

She comes into existence atop a flat, rough slab of stone. In the first few instants, as the sound of the horn fades, that stone consumes all her attention: its pitted, weathered surface, shedding grit against her knuckles where her fist is braced. It is ancient, that stone, and full of memory.

As she herself is not.

To visit the author’s website go to:

Marie Brennan – Author

To buy the novel please visit:

cold-forged flame – Book

To add to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

7 thoughts on “On the Horizon – cold-forged flame (Marie Brennan)

  1. Ha! That happened to me once with a novella.. can’t remember what it was I read that time but i was like- huh? where’s the rest of the book? 😀 it annoyed me to no end that time and I didn’t continue with the series.. maybe if all the episodes are published, yeah, but just getting into the story and having to stop and then wait for donkeys to see what happens next does my head in! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

