There Be Dragons on the Horizon – the dragon in the garden (Erika Gardner)

Ahoy there me mateys!  I received this urban fantasy eARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  So here are me honest musings . . .

the dragon in the garden (Erika Gardner)

Title: the dragon in the garden

Author: Erika Gardner

Publisher: Tirgearr Publishing

Publication Date: February 19, 2016

ISBN: 9781310425547

Source: NetGalley

So a confession of a sort: this pirate is not that into urban fantasy.  Now to be fair there are some such novels that I have liked including magic bites which I reviewed on me blog.  But in general it doesn’t usually float me boat.  However I kept being mesmerized by this cover and title on NetGalley:

dragon garden

Every time I saw it I felt compelled to click on it again.  After multiple views, I gave in and requested it thinking, “well, if I am not approved then I have me answer.”  Then I got approved.  I couldn’t help but be giddy.  I am a sucker for all things dragon, and I had to know about why the dragon was in the garden.  A compulsion had come over me.

So I read it and while I can say that I did not love this book, I do think that it is me not the book.  And that’s okay.  The story is about a woman,  Siobhan, who has the sight and has a pivotal role in the fight between evil and mankind.  This book has it all – kick-ass heroines, a variety of angels, an Oracle, a prophecy, demons, fey, other dimensions, and above all an awesome dragon.

The dragon was the highlight for me, the world-building fun, and the snark along with silly details like slogans on t-shirts made me happy.  Siobhan was a decent main character.  I could have done without the love triangle though.  And how people were always rushing in to save her.  I mean I get that she is learning to use her powers but still.

Also there was a lot of sitting around and exposition for the first half of the book interspersed with brief “fights.”  It is the first book in the series and the plot seemed slow but I imagine that will pick up in the next book.  While I do not plan on reading the next novel, if ye like urban fantasy, ye might want to give this one a try.  Just make sure to tell me what ye think of it.

Oh and here is an interesting blog post by the author about the book in case yer interested.

So lastly . . .

Thank you Tirgearr Publishing!

The publisher’s website had this to say about the novel:

Siobhan Orsini has the Sight–no lie can fool her, no glamour or illusion can cloud her. After inheriting her grandparents’ house in CA’s wine country, she meets a talking dragon–a hot fallen angel, a demon lord, a Valkyrie, and, oh yes, her ex-boyfriend. Seeking the Oracle, Siobhan learns her Sight can help mankind navigate the travails of an ancient war. Can she save humanity?

To visit the author’s website go to:

Erika Gardner – Author

To buy the novel please visit:

the dragon in the garden – Book

To add to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

2 thoughts on “There Be Dragons on the Horizon – the dragon in the garden (Erika Gardner)

Leave a Reply

