Off the Charts – city of the lost (Kelley Armstrong)

Ahoy there me mateys!  For those of ye who are new to me log, a word: though this log’s focus is on sci-fi, fantasy, and young adult, this Captain does have broader reading tastes.  Occasionally I will share some novels that I enjoyed that are off the charts (a non sci-fi, fantasy, or young adult novel), as it were.  So today I bring ye:

city of the lost (Kelley Armstrong)

Though this novel is off the charts, the author has been spotted herein before.  This is an adult thriller/mystery/crime novel that struck me fancy because it sounded cool and because I highly enjoyed both her fantasy and her young adult novels.

While this was not me favorite of her books thus far, I certainly liked it.  I always appreciate this author’s writing style.  Her books are fast paced and quick to read.  This one took me two days.  As usual, I loved her characters, setting, and getting absorbed in me reading.

The setting – an off-the-grid town in the Yukon where people come to escape their old lives.  The problem- murder, of course!  The main character- Casey a detective with an usual past who is tenacious, kick-ass, and fun and has something to hide.  She ends up in the town of Rockton to help find out who-dunnit and maybe find love in the process.

This book was full of plot twists – only some of which I guessed.  I didn’t really care about the murders.  The how and whys of the investigation seemed kind of lax.  However the author certainly tries her best to make every single person a suspect which was amusing.  The romance was good in some ways because Casey is a strong willed woman but a little too much junk thrown in to add romance suspense.  But overall I just went with the flow and tried not to think too hard about the whys and hows.  It worked because I loved Casey, kept reading, and have no regrets about how I spent my reading time.

Apparently book two  is currently scheduled for February 7, 2017.  Looking forward to it.

The author’s website has this to say about the novel:

Don’t look for Rockton on any map of the Yukon. This tiny, off-the-grid town doesn’t exist. Neither do the people in it. They’re all on the run from their pasts, needing a place where they can disappear for a few years.

Casey Butler has come to Rockton mostly to help her friend escape a brutal ex-husband…but Casey may also be fleeing a murder she didn’t quite get away with. And as she discovers, the town is in rather desperate need of a police detective, particularly one with homicide experience.

If you would like to read more about the author visit her site and blog at:

Kelley Armstrong – Author

If you would like to buy this novel to go:

city of the lost – Book

To add to Goodreads go to:

Yer Ports for Plunder List

3 thoughts on “Off the Charts – city of the lost (Kelley Armstrong)

Leave a Reply

