The Captain’s Log – percy jackson series (Rick Riordan)

Ahoy there me mateys!

percy jackson and the olympians (Rick Riordan)

This review veers off me standard course because I am reviewing an entire series at once!  Five books set in modern day in a world where Greek gods and creatures still exist.  Main character – a young boy named Percy Jackson (duh!) who finds out he is a half-blood i.e. a demi-god and is part of a prophecy to save the world.  Sound familiar?  Kinda reminds me of Harry Potter except with America as the center of the universe rather than England.

What is up with young heroes with smart sidekick friends who dash danger and always seem like the last to know what is going on around them and yet win every time?  I mean come on . . . dude finds out monsters are out to kill him constantly and yet doesn’t do research and study to learn every possible creature that can attack him and their weaknesses etc.  Somehow he spends his time practicing fighting and just comes up with ideas that save the day on a whim?

Of course there is the loyalty he shows the people he loves which is wonderful.  I adore having weird Greek monsters appear that I have never heard of.  And believe me, I studied Latin for two years and switched schools multiple times where I always seemed to be learning about the Greeks and Romans at each new place.

Books one and two were the best.  The series ended somewhat predictably for me but had some great fun in book five.  I also got my nephew into this series and that has been fabulous.  He loved the series and even moved on to other books by the same author.

The author’s site has this to say:

The gods of Olympus are alive and well in the 21st Century! They still fall in love with mortals and have children who are half-god, half-human, like the heroes of the old Greek myths. Could you be one of those children?

To see the author’s site visit:

Rick Riordan – Author

To buy these books visit:

percy jackson series – Books

3 thoughts on “The Captain’s Log – percy jackson series (Rick Riordan)

Leave a Reply

