The Captain’s Log – blood song (Anthony Ryan)

Ahoy there me mateys!

blood song (Anthony Ryan)

Just finished book one of this trilogy series.  It is the second book I have read by this British novelist.  I am not sure where I heard about it but I do remember the person claiming this was one of the best modern fantasy trilogies.  Well the beginning was fun.

So, overall I love the main character, Vaelin Al Sorna.  The book is mostly told from his point of view.  He and his mates seem to be the heart of this story, and as I liked those characters that is a good thing.  I really liked the characters of Sollis, Dentos, and Frenis.  Unfortunately there are not enough women in this series.  I mean, the Order that Vaelin belongs in doesn’t allow for marriage or women so I get that on some level there is a reason for the absence.  One of the few women that do exist is Princess Lyrna, and I kinda hated her and had a hard time finding any compassion for her.  Two other women, Sherrin and Sella, are much better.

I also love most of the world building that was there but I wanted way more details.  The politics of the Orders are a little strange and the history of the world seems spotty, but the book did have plenty of plot twists so maybe we are just not meant to know yet.

The pace of the book was fairly good at the beginning and end but had a several low points in the middle, like where there is a skirmish in the woods that went on for too long, and I could have done without.  Also, the segments of the story told from the historian’s point of view were also not that interesting though I understood why they were there.

Could have probably been a shorter book overall in places with no major harm done.  My copy was 575 pages.  When I went to pick up the second novel I realized that I have no real interest in continuing the story.  I don’t need to know what happens next.  Perhaps this series will work better for ye . . . but I am done.

The author’s website has this to say about the novel:

An epic fantasy exploring themes of conflict, loyalty and religious faith. Vaelin Al Sorna, Brother of the Sixth Order, has been trained from childhood to fight and kill in service to the Faith. He has earned many names and almost as many scars, acquiring an ugly dog and a bad-tempered horse in the process. Ensnared in an unjust war by a king possessed of either madness or genius, Vaelin seeks to answer the question that will decide the fate of the Realm: …who is the one who waits?

To visit the author’s website go to:

Anthony Ryan – Author

To buy the novel visit:

blood song – Book

3 thoughts on “The Captain’s Log – blood song (Anthony Ryan)

  1. “Unfortunately there are not enough women in this series. I mean, the Order that Vaelin belongs in doesn’t allow for marriage or women so I get that on some level there is a reason for the absence.”

    Hmm. Did you feel that the book offered a legitimate reason for the Order to ban marriages and women, or is this possibly a case of “the male author doesn’t want to bother with lady-stuff more than absolutely necessary, so he just made up an excuse for the general lack of women”? On a related note: does the Order also forbid sex, or is it just the bonds of matrimony and female members that aren’t allowed?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There wasn’t a “real” reason other then women and marriage distract from the Order. Weirdly I can’t remember if sex was allowed or not. I know the main character has some but don’t know if he was breaking a rule or not.
      x The Captain

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

