Broadside No. 2 – Sharon Shinn

Ahoy there me mateys!  Welcome to the second broadside – the Sharon Shinn edition.  I have read over 15 of her novels and just finished another one yesterday.  I still have two series I have not read but among the books I have enjoyed here are me favorites:

Please note: the links below lead to the author’s pages for each novel with a more in-depth description of each plot and each page has further links of where to buy the books.

  1. Twelve Houses

This was the first series I read by this author.  I have to admit it has been a while since I have read the novels so the details for are fuzzy.  I believe it was sometime in 2008 because that’s when the 5th hardcover book came out so all five novels were finished and I read them all in a row.  Don’t quote me on the year though.  But I remember loving the characters – in particular Cammon, Kirra, and Donnal.  If I remember correctly, the books are connected by six main characters but some are more standalone-ish then others.  I also know I loved the world building and wanted more after finishing the last book even though the series ended well there.  And of course I liked them enough that I had to track down more by the author.

The author’s website has this to say about the series:

Unrest plagues the land of Gillengaria as some of the twelve noble Houses whisper discontent about the king. Religious fanatics roam the land, persecuting and murdering mystics—rare individuals with magical abilities. To determine which Houses might turn traitor and which ones will stand with the crown, the king sends out a small band of four mystics and two of his most loyal soldiers, the Riders. The six travelers barely trust each other, let alone the nobles they encounter, but soon they discover unwelcome news: War is coming.

The books:

mystic and rider
the thirteenth house
dark moon defender
reader and raelynx
fortune and fate

  1. Safe-Keepers series

This is a young adult fantasy series that was the second series I read by the author.  I adore this one.  The worldbuilding, the plot, the characters . . . well everything.  The books tie together but follow different characters.  I actually keep meaning to buy these novels to re-read because I borrowed them from a library so long ago and me current port does not have copies.  The books are quick reads and delightful.

The author’s website says this about the first novel of the series:

In a world where Safe-Keepers guard secrets, Truth-Tellers proclaim the truth, and the Dream-Maker can grant wishes, Fiona and Reed grow up knowing their own lives are full of mystery. Is Reed the illegitimate son of the king? Will Fiona become a Safe-Keeper like her mother? Both of them have secret desires, but not until the Dream-Maker comes to town do their wishes begin to come true.

The books:

the safe-keeper’s secret

the truth-teller’s tale

the dream-maker’s magic

  1. Elemental Blessings

This fantasy series is not complete and has a fourth book coming out in November of this year.  The third book is the one I finished yesterday.  I love love love the magic blessings in this series and wish I could have me own.  The characters in these books are awesome and I am so glad I get another book soon-ish.  I have to admit that the first book is still me favorite but the others are wonderful too.  The next book seems to deal with a character that I adored in the third book.  I cannot wait to see what happens next . . .

The author’s website says this about the world:

Everyone in the country of Welce is affiliated with one of the five elements: air, water, fire, wood, and earth. Each element is associated with eight blessings, and every individual is graced at birth with three of these blessings, which offer them guidance and direction for their entire lives. Unless they cannot read the message behind their blessings…unless they reject their blessings…unless the blessing coins they draw are mysterious and blank…

The books (so far):

troubled waters
royal airs
jeweled fire

So that is my introduction to Sharon Shinn.  If you haven’t read any of her novels I would suggest you hoist those sails and get moving!

To visit her website visit:

Sharon Shinn – Author

To see a complete list of all books she has written visit:

Sharon Shinn – Books

12 thoughts on “Broadside No. 2 – Sharon Shinn

Leave a Reply

