Dead Men Tell No Tales – magic bites (Ilona Andrews)

Ahoy there me mateys!

magic bites (Ilona Andrews)

So this novel is an urban fantasy which normally I don’t read much of.  I have no idea who recommended this to me.  But I have to say that I rather liked it.  This novel has a kickass main heroine, shapeshifters, vampires, and magic orders.

One of the best aspects for me was the world building. The book takes place in an Atlanta where magic is present.  But magic does not always work and there are “downs” when the magic fluctuates and stops.  For example the main character, Kate, owns two cars.  One for when magic runs and one for when it doesn’t.  But the magic does not fluctuate on a set schedule.  So occasionally she will be in a car and magic changes and she has to leave the car and find alternate transportation.  Also magic seems to have a price and is not easy to come by.

I loved Kate.  She is a mercenary who refuses to work with the traditional departments dealing with magic.  She is fierce, loyal, takes crazy risks, and has a smart mouth.  There is a mystery to Kate’s magic and her background that is hinted at but not fully explained.  Also how she deals with the romance in the book is also not typical.  I mean, it ends with hints as to what might happen later but was still fun.

The plot itself was good but nothing amazing to me.  It reminds me of other urban fantasies that I have read in the past.  But if you like urban fantasies then you should like this one . . . just note there are currently at least 9 books in this series!

The author’s website has this to say about the series:

The world has suffered a magic apocalypse. We pushed the technological progress too far, and now magic returned with a vengeance. It comes in waves, without warning, and vanishes as suddenly as it appears. When magic is up, planes drop out of the sky, cars stall, electricity dies. When magic is down, guns work and spells fail.

It’s a volatile, screwed-up world. Magic feeds on technology, gnawing down on skyscrapers until most of them topple and fall, leaving only skeletal husks behind. Monsters prowl the ruined streets, werebears and werehyenas stalk their prey; and the Masters of the Dead, necromancers driven by their thirst of knowledge and wealth, pilot blood-crazed vampires with their minds.

In this world lives Kate Daniels. Kate likes her sword a little too much and has a hard time controlling her mouth. The magic in her blood makes her a target, and she spent most of her life hiding in plain sight.  But sometimes even trained killers make friends and fall in love, and when the universe tries to kick them in the face, they kick back.

To visit the author’s website to go;

Ilona Andrews – Author

To buy the book visit:

magic bites – Book

7 thoughts on “Dead Men Tell No Tales – magic bites (Ilona Andrews)

    1. I liked the first one enough that if I am in the mood for a different genre and a fluffy book I might pick up the second. But I am not in a rush. I just wanted to know if the series is worth reading and I think for most folks it would be. But urban fantasy is never my first pick.
      x The Captain

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

