The Captain’s Log – burning midnight (Will McIntosh)

Ahoy there me mateys!

burning midnight (Will McIntosh)

So, I first heard about this author when I read his book love minus eighty, which you should read if you haven’t. This novel is the author’s first foray into young adult novels. This one is a sci-fi novel set in a time extremely similar to the present with a twist. The twist is that there are mysterious colored spheres that if used will enhance traits like singing ability or ability to sleep.

The novel was a quick read for me. I loved the two main sphere hunters, Sully and Hunter. Sully is a good chap who is caring, a good friend, and enterprising. Hunter is my favorite type of girl – badass yet with a softer side. Their relationship, while predictable, was sweet.

I loved the entire idea of the different spheres, their abilities, the sphere market, the colors, etc. That part of the story made me happy. And I loved about the first 2/3 of the plot. I have to admit that overall I did not love the rest. I certainly enjoyed some of it but the bad guy in the book and the overall resolution of the plot just didn’t do it for me. Unlike his others novels, this ending seemed rushed and too simple. I am not sure if it was just because it’s his first young adult novel or what. But this is certainly not my favorite novel of his. Liked it though.  Definitely worth reading.

Amazon has this to say about the novel:

For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave, this debut YA novel from Hugo Award winner Will McIntosh pits four underprivileged teens against an evil billionaire in the race of a lifetime.
 
Sully is a sphere dealer at a flea market. It doesn’t pay much—Alex Holliday’s stores have muscled out most of the independent sellers—but it helps him and his mom make the rent.

No one knows where the brilliant-colored spheres came from. One day they were just there, hidden all over the earth like huge gemstones. Burn a pair and they make you a little better: an inch taller, skilled at math, better-looking. The rarer the sphere, the greater the improvement—and the more expensive the sphere.

When Sully meets Hunter, a girl with a natural talent for finding spheres, the two start searching together. One day they find a Gold—a color no one has ever seen. And when Alex Holliday learns what they have, he will go to any lengths, will use all of his wealth and power, to take it from them.

There’s no question the Gold is priceless, but what does it actually do? None of them is aware of it yet, but the fate of the world rests on this little golden orb. Because all the world fights over the spheres, but no one knows where they come from, what their powers are, or why they’re here.

To visit the author’s website and blog go to:

Will McIntosh – Author

To buy this book visit:

burning midnight – Book

Advertisements

One thought on “The Captain’s Log – burning midnight (Will McIntosh)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s