The Captain’s Log – the perks of being a wallflower (Stephen Chbosky)

Ahoy there mateys!

the perks of being a wallflower (Stephen Chbosky)

I read this book for two related reasons. One – my First Mate wanted us to watch the movie and he said it was one of the best epistolary novels he has ever read. Two – I was checking out other books at a local library and it happened to catch my eye. I thought, what the hey, and picked it up because I usually like reading the book before seeing the movie (besides Chocolat but that is a different story). Maybe I am just old fashioned that way or too much of an old soul.

Whatever the case may be, I am sort of stunned and glad and worn out from reading this seemingly simple story. At its base level, it is a coming of age story about a boy growing up and dealing with life. I am a (sometimes) grownup girl, yet I felt deeply connected to the underlying emotions, thoughts, and the truly lovely voice of this person. It was devastating and sweet. The format of the letters seems to be a simple form but it draws you in without seeming contrived.

The book itself talks about to kill a mockingbird, hamlet, and other works that wring my heart and soul no matter how many times I read them. The back of the book has a blurb comparing this story to the catcher in the rye or a separate peace. But for me it reminded me of flowers for algernon or the bridge to teribithia. Basically I cry . . . a lot . . . and have to recover when I am done. Not this Captain’s normal action when reading most books (I am small but fierce . . . Arrrr!) but what can you do? I have to think that out there are people who would not enjoy this novel. But for me it was a gift.

Amazon has this to say about the novel:

Read the cult-favorite coming of age story that takes a sometimes heartbreaking, often hysterical, and always honest look at high school in all its glory. Now a major motion picture starring Logan Lerman and Emma Watson, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a funny, touching, and haunting modern classic.

The critically acclaimed debut novel from Stephen Chbosky, Perks follows observant “wallflower” Charlie as he charts a course through the strange world between adolescence and adulthood. First dates, family drama, and new friends. Sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Devastating loss, young love, and life on the fringes. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it, Charlie must learn to navigate those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up.

A #1 New York Times best seller for more than a year, an American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults (2000) and Best Book for Reluctant Readers (2000), and with millions of copies in print, this novel for teen readers (or “wallflowers” of more-advanced age) will make you laugh, cry, and perhaps feel nostalgic for those moments when you, too, tiptoed onto the dance floor of life.

This author does not seem to have an official website so here is his publisher’s page:

Stephen Chbosky – Author – Simon and Schuster

To buy this book from Amazon visit:

the perks of being a wallflower – Book

7 thoughts on “The Captain’s Log – the perks of being a wallflower (Stephen Chbosky)

  1. Very interesting book
    And your opinions are very helpful
    Have you ever thought about reviewing books for Amazon !
    Or the New York Times
    I enjoy your blog
    Keep on reading and sharing !!

    Like

    1. Thank you very much for visiting my blog. Though I post here first, I also post on Amazon as well. I will definitely keep reading and sharing. Happy reading to you too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

