Walk the Plank – railsea (China Miéville)

Ahoy there me mateys.

railsea (China Miéville)

So this book and I did not get along. I have always heard good things about the author and so I thought I would give one of his books a shot. No idea where I heard about this specific title but the local library had a copy so I picked it up. Ugh. A big problem (and I realize this is silly) is that everywhere in the book the word “and” is used, it is written using an ampersand. Even at the beginning of sentences. & in the middle of sentences. Basically & is used all over the place. It just seemed to make the book disjointed. And I tried to keep reading. I thought if I could just get used to the style of writing and ignore the ampersands, perhaps I would fall in love with the characters or world or something. Nope. I could not get into it at all. Later in the day, I learned that the book is supposed to be a retelling of Moby Dick. I will stick to the classic.  This book betrayed my enjoyment so it must walk the plank . . . Arrrrgh!

If you want to check out the author and see if perhaps you have a different conclusion visit his publisher’s website at:

China Mieville – Author’s Publisher’s Site

I could not find a personal website for the author. If anyone knows of one and could send me a link I would appreciate it.

One thought on “Walk the Plank – railsea (China Miéville)

  1. I think I would have the same problem with the book! Can’t stand “&” unless it is in the middle of a sentence, or I will occasionally use it for online forms to make the text shorter so that it will fit. And I never could get into Moby Dick….

    Like

Leave a Reply

