The Captain’s Log – sea of shadows (Kelley Armstrong)

Ahoy there mateys!  A young adult fantasy book for my lovelies . . .

sea of shadows (Kelley Armstrong)

I read this book in one evening and the time flew by. What a lovely unexpected young adult fantasy book. I had never heard of Kelley Armstrong and picked out this book on a whim. I am glad to now have made her acquaintance. Two fun strong female protagonists, excellent secondary characters, magical creatures, plot twists, and tension.

This world was set up with a feeling of Japanese culture and surroundings but still felt like its own world. For example, the swords in the book are described in a way that showcases the blades to be Japanese in origin, if you are familiar which such things, but the author deliberately decided to use the western terms.   The only Japanese words used were some surnames. As someone with familiarity of Japanese art, literature and customs, I felt the author had a light and deft touch to provide cultural and Japanese flavor.

The main characters are twin sisters, Moria and Ashyn. I felt the author did a fantastic job showing their loving relationship and growth during the book. I loved the distinct points of view and how the girls made mistakes of judgment, but the sisters’ belief in one another stayed strong. They also have a giant mystical wildcat and a hound as companions. How cool is that? I am a sucker for larger than life intelligent magical animals in books. The book’s plot sets up lots of questions and ultimately answers very few, which was surprisingly a good thing. The end of the book was just about perfect in a “what the hell just happened” kind of way, and I am excited to read the next in the series when I can get my grubby mitts on a copy.

If you would like to read more about the author visit her site and blog at:

Kelley Armstrong – Author

Amazon says this about the book:

Kelley Armstrong, #1 New York Times bestselling author, takes an exciting new direction with this big, breathtaking blend of fantasy, romance, horror, and pulse-pounding action, perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones.

Twin sisters Moria and Ashyn were marked at birth to become the Keeper and the Seeker of Edgewood, beginning with their sixteenth birthday. Trained in fighting and in the secret rites of the spirits, they lead an annual trip into the Forest of the Dead. There, the veil between the living world and the beyond is thinnest, and the girls pay respect to the spirits who have passed.

But this year, their trip goes dreadfully wrong.

With all the heart-stopping romance and action that have made her a #1 New York Times bestselling author, and set in an unforgettably rich and dangerous world, this first epic book in the Age of Legends trilogy will appeal to Kelley Armstrong’s legions of fans around the world and win her many new ones.

To purchase the book from Amazon visit:

sea of shadows – Book

Advertisements

8 thoughts on “The Captain’s Log – sea of shadows (Kelley Armstrong)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s